We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delicious diner in a crowded place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guajillo

Guajillo
Ranked #79 of 838 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious diner in a crowded place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were nicely welcomed and got a good meal. The burrito is great, so are the sauces. And the price was right. It was crowded so there was a lot of noice surrounding us but not in a annoying way.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dionne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    54
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We discovered this restaurant because it wasn't far from our motel. It was the day before Cinco de Mayo so figured we would have to wait, but we were quickly seated and the service was amazing., It was a little spicy for our "tweener" granddaughters but they liked it. We thought the food was amazing.....with wonderful mole and poblano sauces. The salsa was really really good ! Very impressed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank marilynseimpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Virginia/DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This really is the best by far. They have several mole recipes that are outstanding. Had duck mole recently, which is the best I have ever had.... And I lived in Mexico for seven years.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BaldAndHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This isn't your typicL Mexican restaurant. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the food had much more subtlty and depth of flavor than the usual enchiladas smothered in cheese that you get at most Mexican places. I had the Pollo Relleno which was chicken stuffed with goat cheese and covered in a lovely green sauce. It came with a salad that included corn and pickled onion slices for added texture and flavor. The black beans that came with the dish had a nice smoky flavor. My husband and son had a seafood dish that was really a stew with scallops, shrip and calamari, rice and veggies. They loved it - ate every bite and thought about licking their plates. Our daughter had fish tacos that she said were excellent and served on handmade corn tortillas. The servers were very friendly, and the service was excellent even on a very busy night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good Mexican, A Little Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My spouse and I have visited this place a couple of times. The menu is more than your average Mexican and I encourage sampling of something new and different; I think this place really excels in the less common Mexican fare. For instance, I was not terribly impressed when I orderd a burrito, but when I ordered one of the less traditional entrees the next time, I was very pleased. The service has typically been very good, even when the place is busy. We'll go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RPH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guajillo also viewed

 

Been to Guajillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing