We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good meal and not too high in price”
Review of Chevys Fresh Mex

Chevys Fresh Mex
Ranked #88 of 878 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: When we think Chevys Fresh Mex, we go to our happy place; fun-lovin’ guests, fajitas & margaritas, and the freshest food, always from scratch. Founded in 1986 in Alameda, California, Chevys is an ultra-casual restaurant concept that offers guests an array of freshly prepared Mexican dishes in a relaxing atmosphere. Similar to other Real Mex restaurants, Chevys prepares its dishes daily from scratch using only the freshest ingredients. Chevys is a national brand with locations in 8 states. Chevys' store base includes 39 Company-owned restaurant locations and 16 franchised restaurants. With more than 25 years of successful operations, Chevys is the most widely recognized Mexican casual dining brand in northern California, and is the second largest Mexican casual dining brand in California in terms of number of restaurants, behind El Torito. Designed to offer a fiesta for the senses, where every experience is fresh, fun and full of flavor, the concept is focused on the execution of its trend-setting Fresh Mex® menu and continuous innovation. Chevys uses a "Fresh Mex®" pledge which underscores the Company's promise that all products are made daily from scratch.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good meal and not too high in price”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

With Mexican Food it seems that you either have good food or bad no in-between. This place had good food. We had six people and we were taken care of well by the waiter. The salsa is AWESOME!!! The plates of food were all hot and of good portions. Plenty of stuff to look at inside for entertainment. The place is clean and the working people were clean and doing a good job. We had six different things ordered and I do not believe anything was bad. All had good things to say. Will go back next time in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nstokes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    62
    38
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food/Great Service”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Located across from the Pentagon City Metro Entrance and Mall, this location provided a perfect stop for an early evening meal after a day of sight seeing. I was initially discouraged to see a large troop of boy scouts entering the restaraunt just before us. Visions of long waits, Aa noisy envrionment, and poor service filled my mind with the thought of servers having to deal with such a large influx of patrons at one time. I could not have been more wrong.

The group of scouts were seated at a totally seperate part of the restauant, and evidently plans had been made in advance for their arrival. We were promptly seated, and served cold water and refreshments from the bar( very welcomed after a hot and muggy day in DC). The salsa was tasty and the tortilla chips warm and delicious. We shared a main dish, and had seperate "sinful" deserts. The waiter was friendly, attentive and the prices very reasonable in relation to other meals we had in the Washington DC area.

This is a chain restaurant and a dependable choice when a meal without pretense or high expense is what your looking for in an afternoon or evening meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
821 reviews
631 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,031 helpful votes
“Nice meal........”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I believe that this is a regional chain. we were visiting the area and went here with some old friends who now live in the area. We arrived on Saturday evening around 7:30. Party of 9 was seated immediately.

Service was steady. Food was above average. Everyone enjoyed their selections. Our family of 5 sort of shared a couple of entrees amongst ourselves since we had eaten a late lunch. Well, let me clarify, 3 of us did the sharing. The 2 youngest ordered kid's meals.

Again, good meal, would likely return if in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank abcjjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ole!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Went to the Cantina section when it was happy hour - fantastic lime margaritas! They bring chips and salsa out as well! Had the tostada salad - huge and really good. Loved the buttermilk ranch dressing! Would definitely go again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pami_Mati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Come hungry”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good Mexican food, great service and a nice atmosphere. Our waiter was Victor and he did a great job catering to our picky kids. Very attentive and the food was just great. Very good location close to the Metro line so it was an excellent place for dinner on the way back to the hotel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MtDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chevys Fresh Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing