We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat pie and a flat white, yummy”
Review of Cassatt's Cafe & Gallery - CLOSED

Cassatt's Cafe & Gallery
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

As a Brit I can tell you it's hard to find a place that sells meat pies other than chicken pot pie (or shepherds pie, but with no crust that doesn't count, in my book). This place does a couple different beef pies (my favorite is the steak and garlic) but has lamb pie too. Their salads are consistently good, and of course they are known for their flat white coffee....the best! Forget about Starbucks a few doors away and try the flat white here...the real deal. This is a lovely neighborhood cafe, and has an artist studio with classes down in the basement, with the restaurant walls displaying a continuous change of pieces to enjoy and buy if you so wish. Support the small places and give this a try if you're in the 'hood, you won't regret it.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank JillyDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 74 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2016

Excellent food - really good quality and great ingredients. Everything is delicious. It is based on the style of cafe in New Zealand, which concentrates on fresh ingredients, different sauces/toppings like chutney, and combinations of food you don't find everywhere in the DC area. Brunch on Sundays has a waiting time, lunch can be crowded too. If you can go at non-peak times it's the best. Good coffee, great soup, really enjoyable food.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank degd127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2016

We came on a nice Saturday at noon and had to wait 15 minutes for a table. We thought that was a good sign, but the food was just okay. The brunch menu showed little evidence of NZ food (but the wallboard offered prospects of it at dinner), with nothing more than the usual fare. An omlette was fine, and a panini was okay. Small garnishes were okay. My wife had enough to eat, but I didn't. Service was okay. Cassatt's might get a better rating at dinner, but it is not likely that we will return for lunch. Wait...wait...there was NZ food. A fruit garnish included a piece of kiwi. If it had been ripe, that would have been better.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jxx9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Been here several times and I've not been disappointed. They servings are top quality, and plentiful. Service is friendly, and they check to make certain that their patrons are pleased. It's not a large restaurant, but it is popular. Good place to visit.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank KVM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016

I have been to this shop many times. The food is good and I really like their coffee as well. I like to meet friends there for a quick meal.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank ANNE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassatt's Cafe & Gallery also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing