We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always solid any time of day”
Review of Cassatt's Cafe & Gallery - CLOSED

Cassatt's Cafe & Gallery
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Cassatt's is a place I've enjoyed for brunch, lunch, dinner, desserts, and for just a good coffee/espresso. I've never had a bad experience. I may have rounded up in my rating to reflect my 10+ years of enjoyment, but the place gets additional marks for being unique, having personally, while being near the top of its class/price point. BTW- There are plenty of walkable places that have been one-and-done for me.

Brunch: Fresh, well prepared, and a good variety of breakfast and New Zealand lunch items.

Dinner: nightly specials, and a cool vibe Saturday nights with an entertaining band.

Coffee/dessert: much better flavor than the chain coffee house next door and they have bar seats to enjoy a quick dessert combo.

Experience: besides the band, this place offers 2 outdoor dining options (front and back). The also have friendly servers and the nicest General Manager I've encountered.

Overall I can see where people rate this place anywhere from 3-5 stars. If you visit any place only once, it can be a slight crap shoot. I rounded up because of the overall experience I've had for the many visits over a 10+ year period. Keep in mind that this is the only sit-down restaurant that has survived in the challenging Lee Heights setup (although there is ample parking in the back). The remaining, failed restaurants have been replaced by chain establishnents minus a pizza place that will likely fail like it's predecessors. Cassatt's must be doing something right!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 74 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2016

We have New Zealand visitors staying with us for a couple weeks and told them about this place. They wanted to see it and experience some home town delicacies. We had meat pies and pavlova. No New Zealand beer though. Service was good and professional. The meat pies were ok, one curry item was snappy and tasteful while the lamb pie lacked flavor. All in all an ok lunch with our NZ friends who were satisfied. Nothing wrong but nothing out standing either. Many like it because the place was packed.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2016

Small, North Arlington neighborhood cafe/coffee shop with an unusual speciality--New Zealand style meat pies and other lamb dishes. Good food--we had a croque madame (no mornay sauce) and veggie pie--served with interesting sides of slaw and chutney. Reasonably priced. Serving very good New Zealand wines. The service is the cafe's achilles heel. Mostly distracted teenagers who weren't able to provide the basics (utensils, napkins, salt and pepper) when seating customers.
The food is good enough for a return trip, but be ready to muster extra patience with the service.
Parking directly in front and behind of the cafe.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BlueNWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016

This is a terrific neighborhood spot with a touch of New Zealand. They serve the best BLT in town -- with guacamole and on sourdough bread. Lunchtime is always busy but the wait staff stays on top of it all and makes sure everyone gets taken care of.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cranberries0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2016

I will forever be grateful to Cassatt's for introducing me to the Flat White, strong coffee with a thick layer of creaminess on top, better than the ubiquitous cappuccino. Cassatts is the type of quirky neighborhood place that is creative and delicious, with something a little different. Slightly pricey, but not ridiculously so, and they run a lot of specials. They also have live music sometimes (check the web site). The lamb, if you like lamb, is tender and flavorful. The savory pies, and the amazing pavlova dessert (meringue, fruit, whipped cream, how can you go wrong with that combination?) are real treats. The name is confusing as you would suspect a French cafe, but the food brings the flavors of New Zealand to Arlington.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassatt's Cafe & Gallery also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing