We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Baguette in DC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Buns Bread Co.

Best Buns Bread Co.
Ranked #1 of 25 Bakeries in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bakery
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Baguette in DC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I lived in Europe for a year and came back on the hunt for the best baguette in DC (and America). Best Buns has arguably the best fresh baked bread in the DC area and possibly the best baguette in America. The EPI's are a pull-apart version of the baguette and is equally as good. The cupcakes are also delicious, not too large or small like some of the other area cupcakeries. I'm here about once a week picking up my bread!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    31
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not the Best Buns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

While the food is pretty good, I find the selection a little limited, especially for the salads. I was also disappointed that their sandwiches are not made to order, but are ready made, which I imagine is ideal for local business workers. All in all, in a pinch I would go there for food to go, but it otherwise would not be my first choice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“They do have the best buns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We don't go to Best Buns Bread as often as we like because it is far from us a little difficult to park. But we do go to Sweet Water Tavern and Artie often. These restaurants and Best Buns are owned by the same company and they serve Best Buns' bread.

We love their poblano pepper and cheese bread. Crusty on the outside and soft inside. Their apple monkey bread is (very) sweet and sticky, but very good if you don't mind sweet bread. All the other bread are really good. Many love their cupcakes. We talked about trying their cupcakes. But every time we go there, we always ended up getting something else we want more.

They also have the best service. All the staff there are very friendly. You can call ahead to reserve baked goods to be picked up later.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average breakfast sandwhich...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Came here on a buy Saturday. Although I do like their bread varieties, the breakfast I ordered was only average.

Sticky bun - simple and yummy
Egg & cheese croissant - very cheesy but very salty

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
208 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great spot for fresh bread, buns, and coffee. Usually a line in the morning (but well worth the wait) Outdoor seating in spring, summer and fall.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Buns Bread Co. also viewed

 

Been to Best Buns Bread Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing