We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not a neighborhood gem”
Review of Cafe Asia - CLOSED

Cafe Asia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
S
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK but not a neighborhood gem”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wide menu selection from all over Asia and reasonably good food but it's nothing special. It seems to me it has gone downhill in the past few years - new manager? - new owner? - something is different. It can be pricey depending on what you order. My biggest complaint on this past visit was the waitress who seemed to have just graduated from a fast food chain job. She was over-anxious to take our order, even though it wasn't crowded and they definitely did not need the table. She said she was bringing all the food at once, appetizers and entrees. So, rather than enjoying our glass of wine with our appetizer, we had to try to juggle dishes to fit on the table and then try to eat everything while it was still hot - a big challenge with the tempura which cools quickly and is not good cold. I probably won't go back. We felt rushed and were given no time to relax and talk which was the purpose of the meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppompei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    106
    44
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, ambiance and fair price”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

After going here a number of years, I always go back to this place as a staple. Food is consistently good and has a wide variety. On this last visit, I ordered their suhi/sashimi during happy hour and then got the teriyaki chicken and Korean beef dish.

Despite the size of this place and the fact that it always busy, the service is good and food comes out quick.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our Asian staple”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

After discovering this we have maintained it as our fall-back restaurant in the Rosslyn area. The food has been consistently decent and the pan-asian theme means there is some variety of choice.

I can't speak for the foods' being "authentic", and no, you probably won't have a culinary revelation. But it's been reliable and I value that a lot.

I feel that the furniture could use some maintenance, and they want to get some blinds or something on those floor-to-ceiling windows as we've had to ask to be moved out of the sun a few times.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kafine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Fast and tasty”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Good service, nice fellows and ambiance, food was really good and tasty (specially the noodles!), the mix of chinesse, japanesse ad thai offer they have makes them a nice choice, the sushi was good enough, but culd be better

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tasty, fresh food with good service”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

went here on a Sunday afternoon. the satay chicken was terrific - cooked so well! accompanied by I Indonesian rice which also tasted delicious!!
the waiter was also very attentive. best of all very reasonable prices for very large portions! 2 dined for $30!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luckytmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Asia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing