We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it so much we went back again...”

Sine Irish Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 880 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Penticton, B. C.
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it so much we went back again...”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were in search of lunch when we were at the Pentagon City Shopping Center and found Sine Irish Pub & Restaurant nearby. We enjoyed the atmosphere and friendly service -- the host even took time to give us tips on the area when he saw us looking at a map. On the first visit we enjoyed the ribs, fish & chips and the Guinness stew -- all good portions and very tasty. We returned for dinner a couple of weeks later and were treated with a feast of Shepard's pie, corned beef and cabbage plus a repeat of the Guinness stew since it was so good. They serve great bread as well. Service was efficient, attentive but not over bearing. We felt the meals were good value -- in the range of $10 to $13 each. It is not a quiet dining experience -- it is obviously enjoyed by the local office workers and military folks. We had a booth both times and weren't bothered by the noise. Worth going to if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Avlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    100
    40
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Appomattox, VA
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Eat outside if you want to talk”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Sine is a bar first, and secondly, a restaurant. Food was good, service a bit slow. Excellent selection of beers on tap. Noise level indoors can be overwhelming during dinner hours as a lively group of singles seems to congregate bar-side.
Irish menu will disappoint a true Irishman, but is tasty to the rest of us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhereBenhasbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed the meal and service”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

With family in town we tried Sine for the first time. The menu had a good selection, service was great and the 7 of us at the table each enjoyed our meal. I have eaten in a lot of pubs throughout the US and Europe, Sine is better than most.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dirty Dive”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Sine is a place I'd heard about for a few years, so I decided to try it. Never going back. The clientele tend to be exhuberant to use a polite euphemism. The bar has clearly seen better days, and the staff seem to know it. Service was slow - and not because there were no staff. I just happened to catch all of them on their break. Plus, the place is not kept-up. A party had apparently just left (being generous) the bar before I sat down, and the surface had not been cleaned. In addition, there was a crumpled napkin on the floor, which I kicked into the footpath close to the host station in the assumption that someone would pick it up. No fewer than three staff members, including the host, walked over it until maybe 10 minutes later someone bothered to pick it up. This would be an OK bar to go to if you had to go somewhere and it was this place or the bowling alley. But in Arlington? Bye bye...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian62hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I don't know if it was just the night we went or an everyday thing. We went to get a quick bite to eat and love pub food. We asked to be seating in the restaurant instead of being by the bar. After a long wait, we were seated in the back, but I guess the whole restaurant is a bar because they were standing in the table area hooting and hollering. Drinking and talking loud so we couldn't eat our food. We don't mind the noise, but when a group of people are standing right beside your table continuously, we were uncomfortable and left. The server didn't say anything to them and they continued to stay there. We would have tried the food since we love trying new places, but the service was terrible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naturehippie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sine Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sine Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing