We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you kidding me?”
Review of Faccia Luna

Faccia Luna
Ranked #273 of 878 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me?”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

You must be kidding. How many ways can I count to describe the horrible experience:

1. No matter how many times we asked water came at very end of 1.5 hour brunch.
2. After 1/2 hour we asked about brunch not being delivered. The waitress found out the order had been lost. In the meantime she had never even checked on it or why we were not getting the food.
3. "Starter" was a few crummy pieces of bread with a little slap of salmon on top with a few lettuce leaves. Ugh.
3. After another 20 minutes the meals were delivered. Mine was the wrong entree. Told the waitress and she said nothing. Not even an "I am sorry." Ate the damn thing being so frustrated with all that had happened.
4. Asked for catchup and after ten minutes, after I had to go inside to ask for it again, it came.
5. Wanted refill of coffee and asked for it, never came.
6. Brunch food mediocre.

It was a warm day, the sun was out and I had good company. Other than that, we had a terrible experience. No wonder crowds were in front of other restaurants on Wilson Blvd. but not in front of Faccia Luna. Its reputation must be known.

Whoever has given the restaurant positive reviews on Yelp or Trip Advisor must be family friends of management.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    17
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mildly Impressed ”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't expecting anything to stand out from a casual, semi-chain Italian restaurant, however we were impressed with the pizza and the agnolotti (ravioli.). The butternut squash agnolotti was most sweet enough for dessert.

Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Pizza has changed”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We love thin crust pizza which used to be served here. They now have a thicker crust and not to our liking. I asked about it and the waitress said if you want a thin crust you can ask for it. Hmm, didn't see that option on the menu. We also ordered a steak and cheese sandwich. It was very good. The bread it was served on was excellent. We also had a salad that was fine. Arlington County has a new dog law allowing your furry family members outside with you at your table; the Hostess was not aware of this new law and had to ask about it even though dog-frinedly signs were on the table. Will not go here for pizza again, so probably will not visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Went Downhill”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Pop quiz question 1: What does a Margherita pizza include? If you answered, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella slices and basil, you are correct.

Pop quiz question 2: If you deliver pizza with sauce and shredded mozzarella, what is that called? The answer is plain pizza.

So, why did we order a Margherita pizza last weekend that looked no different than a plain, and then when we asked for Basil, we were CHARGED for it?!

I used to only have good experiences at this place but the last two times have been nothing short of discouraging. Last time (years ago), we asked for bread and they said they would have to charge us for slice. For bread?!

And this time, we did not get a Margherita (we even asked once we got it to confirm it was what we ordered) and were charged for the ingredients that make it a Margherita. It's like asking for a BLT, not getting the B, and being charged for it.

On top of that, our server was not pleasant at all (until, as always, it was time for the check).

There are better pizza spots in Arlington (like Pupatella, Pie-tanza or even Vapiano)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khyati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
281 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quite a wait for buttery Italian”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We were in Clarendon after a visit to the apple store--- decided to eat out and popped in. 45 min wait so we grabbed a seat at the bar. Great beer selection with a helpful, friendly bartender. The salads were fresh with generous cheese. We had the butternut squash ravioli in butter sage sauce. It was more like melted butter than a sauce. Very heavy and bland. My husband had the chicken angel hair pasta special. The pasta was over cooked and had an overbearing lemon flavor.
Perhaps it was just the casualty of a sat night rush. Next time we will stick with the pizza.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Urbanfarmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faccia Luna also viewed

 

Been to Faccia Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing