We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“We will return again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle

Carlyle
Ranked #1 of 836 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: High energy, American bistro with seasonal outside dining and year round classic fare. A perennial brunch favorite.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“We will return again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went to Carlyle because of TripAdvisor. We were so happy we went here. We both ordered fish dishes and my salmon had to have been the best salmon ever. The mashed cauliflower was excellent. We finished our meals. This place is great! Best salmon ever!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnny5ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    237
    62
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looks good but the staff could care less.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We waited for over an hour with a small child. The staff was so busy that we ended up just walking away deciding that it wasn't worth it. We just moved to the area and were hopping to find a new place. I hope if we go back they could show some ounce of caring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
284 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I will go out of my way to eat at the Carlyle Grand. It is truly a class act from the décor, the serving staff, the interesting menu, the kitchen and atmosphere. Lots of very cool places in Shirlington and you can stroll by all of them, but betcha won't find any better than the Carlyle.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hey_Joe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend brunch, standout in Shirlington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is one of the best places to eat in Shirlington. I order the smoked salmon salad just about every time I go there on a weeknight, and I have been once on the weekend for brunch (the crab cakes were amazing). Service is delicous and fast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catatonia_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's the little things”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I have been going to Carlyle Grand Cafe for years, and have had some terrific food, service and dining experience and, at other times, only so-so. There are things that the restaurant can fix and we wish they wood, because this is basically a good place to go for any occasion.

The good is a nicely balanced menu, with seafood/fish alternatives, meat alternatives and a few (but only a few) vegetarian alternatives. Their nightly specials are always interesting and we've rarely been disappointed. Service is generally quite good.

On the other hand, from time to time our experience has been less enjoyable, and a recent night shows how there are easy fixes that we think are general fixes, that would make Carlyle Grand really stand out. First, there is too much salt in many of the dishes. We had the grilled salmon--nicely done fish but the topping was so salty that the fish was inedible. Second, although our waiter hovered and from time to time interrupted our conversation to ask if the food was fine (memo to waiter: don't do that!), he failed to notice the timing of our consumption of our appetizers, so that the main dishes were brought to the table before we'd finished the first course. They took the food back, but we all were not convinced that they'd not merely re-heated the original food, since both fish dishes were a bit more dry than ordered. Lastly, and by no means is Carlyle Grand the only restaurant to do this--please don't ask to clear the plates until everyone is finished. The servers at Carlyle Grand must have asked us 5-6 times if they could clear but each time we said we'd prefer to wait until the final one of us was finished. We felt as if they wanted to rush us out of there, or needed our plates because they'd run out!

As I said, relatively "little" things that the restaurant could fix that would make the dining experience there so special. All in all, good food and nice people, efficiently run, and the outdoor area is great in the warmer months. Carlyle Grand is an institution and a good choice in the Shirlington neighborhood--always has been and probably always will be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SalisburyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing