We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Go Wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle

Carlyle
Ranked #1 of 836 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: High energy, American bistro with seasonal outside dining and year round classic fare. A perennial brunch favorite.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cannot Go Wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I bring our kids here at least 2-3 times per month, and without exaggeration, we have never been disappointed. The staff is great. We have had a different server nearly overtime, and each one has been phenomenal. Food is great, ambiance is great, staff are wonderful. Definitely one of the better places around. In our opinion, it is must better to sit upstairs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Check-In101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    233
    61
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's a grand cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Met some friends for lunch. Loved the ambiance, the food and the service. It's in a great location in Shirlington where you can walk around and see the other cafes and boutiques.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SheGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Part of the great American restaurant group. Artie's. Sweet waters. These guys know how to make the train run on time. Excellent service. Excellent setting. Good food that never ever misses. They serve up winners.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Wow - what a gem - dinners, location & service were all fabulous. Smoked salmon salad was the best dinner salad I have ever had - simply amazing!
This restaurant is in such a cute little village - lots of outdoor dining, festive lights in the trees, dog friendly water dishes everywhere ... enjoy!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uwbadgerfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have eaten at the Carlyle numerous times over the past few years. On each visit, both the food and service have been very good. My most recent visit was a dinner for seven, celebrating a birthday. The pecan crusted trout, rib eye steak, crab cakes, and lobster roll were ordered by the various members of our group and everyone enjoyed their meals. The blue crab fritters, lobster pot stickers, and tex-mex eggrolls were ordered as appetizers. While the pot stickers and eggrolls were good, the blue crab fritters were excellent. A final note on the food: some of the entrees and sides change seasonally, so some of the items mentioned in this review may not always be available.

The wait staff at the Carlyle is a well oiled machine and it's not surprising to have multiple members of the staff assisting your table during your meal. The wine by the bottle list is solid and fits the menu well. The only criticisms I can really make of the Carlyle are the noise level can be a little high on busy nights and the beer selection is limited. It would be nice to see a few more microbrews on the list. But, those are minor in comparison to the pleasurable dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SheddVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing