We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlyle

Carlyle
Ranked #1 of 850 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: High energy, American bistro with seasonal outside dining and year round classic fare. A perennial brunch favorite.
Beltsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went here for a friend's birthday brunch. Service was great and the server knew it was for a birthday. His recommendations were spot-on. Most of us had the brioche French toast and it was wonderful. Big portions but not so big that you couldn't finish. Good atmosphere. And worth me coming all the way from Maryland.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank divasoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    256
    67
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy bread and desserts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a fun place with excellent service. I was never without a drink! The salad was good, but the bread basket - YUM! Then, we got the flourless chocolate waffle with ice cream for dessert. It was perfection!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookeworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Spectacular !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

WOW Wow WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! This place in the shirlington Village moments from the heart of DC , is amazing, The Blue crab fritters were the most tasty Crab dish We've ever tasted served with a spicy corn relish,out of this world, The soup of the day was a rustic cream of mushroom soup which was outstanding,unlike any other mushroom soup I've ever tasted, on top of that throw in a perfectly cooked Burger topped with Goat Cheese (try it ) it was a perfect dining experience, Excellent service, Overall incredible!!!! if your in the area You must go, You'll be very pleased that you did, Cheers!!!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TEVY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Even though they don't take reservations in advance, we called ahead to tell them there would be five of us. Sunday at noon, in the Arlington, VA area and we didn't have to wait. The menu is diverse and service was excellent. Thanks Michael! If you're in the Shirlington area, you can't go wrong at the Carlyle Grand Cafe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Carlyle turns out to be exactly the restaurant you picture when you hear the name - old style elegance, art deco elements throughout the decor and terrific service. The food is pretty wonderful, too. I had a warm roast chicken salad, which included dried cranberries, nuts and field greens, with a light sweet vinaigrette dressing. My husband had beef tips and noodles (a special that day). Both were outstanding! We'll definitely want to come again next time we visit Virginia.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lauriera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing