We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Childhood Memories” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Store

Italian Store
3123 Lee Hwy, Lyon Village Center, Arlington, VA 22201-4207
703 528 6266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 834 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Childhood Memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Italian Store reminds me of growing up in an Italian neighborhood in Philadelphia: the products, sandwiches and lunchmeats look and smell wonderful and taste just as good! There are always a huge selection of frozen pastas, sauces and other foods to bring home and heat up. They have a good selection of nicely priced Italian wines as well. And let's not forget about their pizza and cannoli! Yum.

This is not a place to sit and eat a leisurely meal. It's more of a grocery store with a sandwich/deli counter. But well worth it.

My only advice is if you're visiting on a Saturday or Sunday, get there early because the crowds make the wait for food or check-out long. Or, call ahead and place your order so it will be ready when you get there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SophiaSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    133
    26
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“NY Italian To Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you love great Italian food from NY, you will love this place. They have the best sandwiches around. If you stop by to pick something up for lunch go early as the place fills up fast--you take a number and wait on line. In addition to great sandwiches, they have fantastic pizza (NY style) and homemade pasta and sauces. Wonderful selection of cheeses and desserts as well. There is a small outdoor seating area for those who can't wait to get home to eat their delicious delicacies. Enjoy!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank audthad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would choose this for my final meal of I knew when I was going to go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I've been eating here since they opened at 7 Corners and I've never had a better sandwich...EVER. A Milano on a hard roll is my go to and the pizza rocks too. Now, I'm hungry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Now that's Italian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Upfront I will say I hail from an Italian New York heritage, how familiar and wonderful it always is to buzz into the Italian Store for some simple, delicious food! The subs, the large pizza slices, the plethora of pastas ... they fit a small deli and grocery nicely into the small space! We have been coming here for nearly 6yrs and highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AllAmerican4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
“Best Subs Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is more of a take out shop than a restaurant, but their Italian Subs are unmatched in this area. Servings are huge and the quality is excellent. They have a great variety of salamis and hams, and the quality is excellent. Other deli meats and cheeses are also excellent. Although the sandwiches alone are worth the trip, don't ignore their terrific prepared Italian meals and sauces, and the nice assortment of gourmet Italian foods and wines.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikey412014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Store also viewed

 

Been to Italian Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing