We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Gem”
Review of Italian Store

Italian Store
Ranked #8 of 880 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Arlington, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

It has been our go-to deli when we craving for Italian subs. it is fresh but not overpriced. They also have good wine, pre-made Italian dishes, and tiramisu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    142
    26
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The real deal in Italian hoagies”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I am from Philadelphia so I am usually very critical of sandwiches that stores, especially a certain chain, try to pass of as subs or hoagies. The Italian Store knows its stuff. I prefer the Philly; others in the family like the Roma ad Milano. It's a matter of which combination of meats you prefer. Likewise, there's a choice of hard or soft roll; we purists prefer the hard roll, which as close as anythignnive found to what we get farther north. One hint: call ahead. The line can sometimes be long. Unless you're a newbie and need coaching, the menu online will tell you all you need to know.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FSR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Italian Subs in Virginia”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you want the best subs in Virginia, this is the place. Big, filled with meat and cheese, wonderful crusty bread... this is the real deal. Warning, the line can be very, very long at peak times. Make sure you get a number at the counter as quickly as possible!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott-Michaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great, But Slooooooooooooowwwwwww”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stopped in on a Saturday and the line was manageable, at least, we thought. When you take a number, count on each number equaling five minutes. That means if there are 10 people ahead, it will be about a 45 minute wait.

With that said, we waited and we are glad we did. However, the young woman who made our subs was super slow. I mean slow as in molasses. The food was excellent, however.

Yes, we would go there again but wish they could work a little faster.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scarletman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Arlington”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We've been regulars at Italian Store for 10 years. Besides having amazing pizza - I recommend the Sicilian - they have great mozzarella, tomatoes, fresh bread, and salami. I'd also recommend the take out meals. Best are eggplant parmigiana and chicken Marsala. Enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lanncasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Italian Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing