We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Store

Italian Store
Ranked #8 of 834 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Osprey, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lunch time is hectic here. I would call in, fax in your order or you may wait a long time to get your sandwich. Busy, busy, busy place. Only a couple of tables to eat at here. Mostly a pick up and go place. It's good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsytav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    134
    26
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pizza or sub, you can't go wrong here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

As the name indicates, The Italian Store is indeed a store, a very good deli, in fact, but it's also a popular carry-out restaurant. There are a few tables with chairs outside, but don't count on getting a seat. As for the food, your big decision is whether to go with a sub or pizza. You can't go wrong with either. My favorite sandwich is their take on the muffuletta, the best I've tried outside of N'awlins. If I had a complaint, it would be that they sometimes run out of various cuts of meat. Such a problem only attests to their popularity. So go in, grab a number, and be patient. You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a must-go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

i'm tempted to tell everyone that this place sucks so that it wont get any more busy than it already is, but i'm italian and i just keep keep this place a secret. it is by far the best place to get a sandwich in the area. the ingredients are fresh and they pile them high. i've never heard of anyone having a bad order here. don't let the nondescript srtip mall location fool you - this place is legit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“#1 for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I'm pretty sure this place has been there forever, or as long as I can remember. And it's always been great. Their subs are the best in the area, and if you go in at lunch they have baskets of them made in case you don't want to wait. I've never had anything that wasn't good there. Them being #1 on any food list is an easy call.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laguna5243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crazy awesome pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Title says it all. The pizza was great! We had it while visiting our friends house. I called again 2 days later to have it delivered to our hotel. My only complaint is that I found out they don't deliver. How disappointing. Still love the pizza though!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Niel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Store also viewed

 

Been to Italian Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing