We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmmm......”
Review of Italian Store

Italian Store
Ranked #8 of 880 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm......”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Italian Store fills a void. Their subs range from fine to excellent. The pizza isn't too bad either. All in all if you have a pizza/sub need, the Italian Store will satisfy that need. You'll be happy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frankkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    142
    26
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome Italian sub sandwiches”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Always popular but never too busy not to stop, this authentic Italian sub shop is absolutely my favorite quick stop for a meal anywhere in DC. They have some sandwiches already made if you're really in a rush, but why not spend an extra four minutes letting them custom-build your favorite to go? And don't those cookies right in front of the deli meat display counter always look fabulous? My only negative advice is not to get the chicken Parmesan, which they keep frozen and then microwave, without adding any toppings: still good, but not as fresh as their other staples.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetsourtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“NEW TO THE AREA? YOU SIMPLY MUST TRY THE FOOD HERE”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Moved here more than a decade ago and whenever I have family / friends visiting from New England I make sure we stop in here a few times. Although many places may claim to have the best pizza & subs - the ITALIAN STORE does! Brought home a pizza and what I didn't know was my wife had already bought a dominos so when I arrived home they had just started eating it. When the smell from my pizza circulated around the room - they descended like vultures! It was gone that quickly - the next day when I went to work they came so we could have lunch together - at the Italian Store...grumbling about the line until they got their food. VERY satisfied after they finished eating, fresh ingredients and made quickly to order hoagies like we had at home. If you want mayo you have to ask because the norm is vinegar/oil/spice combo is great.
The only other place that had a sub even close was a really small sub shop in Ocean City but I can remember it's name but outside the Northeast this it the BEST pizza & subs. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
“a neighborhood fixture”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have the best sandwiches and pizza and a lot of different kinds of delicacies. The pizza is a good price, the sandwich for the value is a good price, some of the deserts are expensive

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophomorecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great subs and Italian foods.... loooonnnnnggg lines at lunchtime”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband's favorite sub shop, I've learned the trick is to arrive before the meal time rush whenever he has a craving. He loves the deli sandwiches which are made to order.

I have food allergies so am unable to try their pizzas and subs but all of the ingredients we have purchased there to cook at home are fresh and very difficult to find at normal groceries. Their vinegars are marvelous and their cheeses outstanding. The kids enjoy their odd shaped pastas.

The lines to order food and check out are very long, so time your visit carefully and enjoy. The parking lot can be crowded so timing is important. The big crowds and the few tiny tables out on the sidewalk which are always packed with folks who pick up a meal to eat outside mean this is a pick-up place for us. I would not eat there, and the big crowds make it awkward to bring a stroller or small children into the store.

Many friends have told me that their pizza is great but our family only orders the deli sandwiches.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Store also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Italian Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing