We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great subs and Italian foods.... loooonnnnnggg lines at lunchtime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Store

Italian Store
Ranked #9 of 836 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great subs and Italian foods.... loooonnnnnggg lines at lunchtime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband's favorite sub shop, I've learned the trick is to arrive before the meal time rush whenever he has a craving. He loves the deli sandwiches which are made to order.

I have food allergies so am unable to try their pizzas and subs but all of the ingredients we have purchased there to cook at home are fresh and very difficult to find at normal groceries. Their vinegars are marvelous and their cheeses outstanding. The kids enjoy their odd shaped pastas.

The lines to order food and check out are very long, so time your visit carefully and enjoy. The parking lot can be crowded so timing is important. The big crowds and the few tiny tables out on the sidewalk which are always packed with folks who pick up a meal to eat outside mean this is a pick-up place for us. I would not eat there, and the big crowds make it awkward to bring a stroller or small children into the store.

Many friends have told me that their pizza is great but our family only orders the deli sandwiches.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    134
    26
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best NY Pizza Outside of NY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A few weeks ago a friend conspiratorial asked me if I knew this great little place called "The Italian Store" -- I chuckled to myself as the Italian Store has been a company favorite for at least 14 years (my company provides lunch every day for its employees and we've eaten our way through most of Arlington and Fairfax counties). Italian Store is about as authentic as you get this far south of the Mason Dixon line. Its good, high quality meats with sandwiches wrapped in butcher paper and the best NY-style pizzas and calzones you'll find in the DC metro area. Lunch time gets a little crazy so order ahead and make sure to assert yourself at the counter or you'll never get your food!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pelirroja01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Italian sandwiches in DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you crave a real Italian sandwich with premium meats and cheeses, you should head straight to the Italian Store. It is the best, bar none! And as the crowds indicate, many others agree. The store handles it's lines with speedy efficiency, and the wait is worth it. You can use the opportunity to browse the wine and grocery section. The shelves are filled with interesting Italian specialities -- don't miss the frozen food section where you can buy wonderful homemade/craft sauces and pasta. The wine selection is both well-curated and well-priced. This is a Washington institution that shouldn't be missed!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Pretty Darned Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Located in a small strip mall in Arlington. So the outside seating offers a scenic view of a parking lot and pawn shop. This is a combo deli-Italian grocery. The grocery items, many imported are pricey but there are home-made pasta items in limited supply.
The deli is the real attraction and what draws huge crowds. (Take a number when you first go in. Typically the will be 18-20 people in front of you but on some days I have seen 35 in front of me)
The menu offers 8 basic hoagies on a soft or hard sub roll. Meats and cheese fillings are plentiful. The sweet peppers are a favorite.
The deli offers soups, cannoli and various pizzas. But waiting 30 min to place an order for a pizza that takes 15 minutes to bake just doesn't make sense.
The food isn't cheap. Two subs, two small soups and two cannoli came to $35.
The clientel is pretty mixed, a lot of office workers, locals, foreign accents and hipsters.
That said, anytime I am in the neighborhood, I pick up subs, usually the Capri. Do the same and you will be glad you did.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's all about the white pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food here is fantastic, and they have a great assembly line for making fresh subs on crusty Italian bread. They also have in the coolers freshly made marinara and pesto sauces. The pesto is fantastic! But this place is all about the pizza -- you must try the white pizza! Sold by the slice. This place doesn't have a lot of sit-down eating space, there are a couple of tables out front of the store. Don't let that deter you. Awesome food and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayBee102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Store also viewed

 

Been to Italian Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing