We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience”
Review of La Cote D'Or Cafe

La Cote D'Or Cafe
Ranked #88 of 880 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This cozy French Restaurant serves only the finest and freshest ingredients each time it prepares a unforgettable meal. A charming spot tucked away in Arlington East Falls Church will not disappoint you. French dining which is not pretentious or expensive, La Cote d"Or works for a quiet romantic evening or a casual week night meal. Owners Lynne and Raymond Campet, always present, take care to ensure that your dining experience is a good one.
dc
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good location for quiet, comfortable dinner, especially a special occasion without the pomp and glitter. Ideal for couples or small business meals, low noise level allows easy conversation. Food quality was very good, we tried the duck breast in raspberry sause and the chicken cordon bleu, both were excellent. For desert, raspberries in caramel and creme brulee were both great. Service was attentive without being intrusive and very professional. Can't believe we've lived in the area 5 years and didn't try this spot but we'll be back now...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    36
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mclean,va
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always Excellent!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Not much to dislike! Great food, wonderful service. The desert list is amazing. I often have the specials which are varied frequently but their standard fare is always wonderful. If you like mussels, this is a good place for them. Fish dishes are perfectly done and properly prepared. I have never had a disappointing meal there. Only one wish; I would like to see a more extensive wine list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KcR1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The name says it all.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Gold Coast. Bring a lot of GOLD if you want to eat there.
Food was good, but the prices were outrageous. The night we dined, there were four persons in the restaurant. All bought the quiche, the only affordable dish. A tiny piece of quiche with 5 spinich leaves for about $17 a person.
Dinner with wine can easily run $100 a person. They only advertise the lunch menu, which is more reasonable. Cross the street to Chasin'Tails.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great chef to be kept in the kitchen”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

La Cote d'Or offers great French cuisine , mainly on the provencal side. Husband and wife, the owners run a charming retaurant and offer an exceptionally well appointed wine selection. She charms the guests with her hospitality, and he with his palatable offerings. One suggestion, however: I would keep him in the kitchen and away from guest relations.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saboratore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Toulousian Cassoulet was almost as good as that we had in Toulouse, France!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We started with fresh salad augmented with warm black trumpet mushrooms. We shared our tasty main courses of nearly authentic Cassoulet -- with duck, sausage, and lamb -- and sauteed sole. Everything was delicous and quite filling so we passed on dessert. Our table in the corner of the enclosed patio was private and comfortable. If you are longing for a restaurant to remind you of trips to France,this is a good choice in the DC area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kreykenbohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cote D'Or Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Cote D'Or Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing