We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“underrated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Temple

Tara Temple
Ranked #528 of 838 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $18 - $18
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Thai, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Quincy Street
Transit: Tara Temple is located two blocks from the Orange Line Ballston Metrorail station.
dnpinva
Level Contributor
251 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“underrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is excellent Thai food in a chic setting. I was at first hesitant to try Tara Temple after reading the reviews, but now, I can say that is one of my favorites in Ballston. I high recommend this restaurant. Miso soup, curries, and pad thai are all excellent. If you ask for spicy, you will get spicy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    21
    8
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great SUSHI, Nice Environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This place has amazing, LARGE, yummy sushi probably the best around. It’s very affordable and sexy environment. I’ve been a few times and it’s always so great…HOWEVER, this past time there was a mouse in the center of the dining area when the place was packed. I felt that there must be many more for there to be one out in the middle of everyone. Also, a very unpleasant waitress was waiting on us who I later saw in the bathroom and she left without washing her hands. YUCK!! Between the mice and the non-hand washer I said I’d never go back….HOWEVER, I can’t stop thinking about the sushi so I guess I’ll be going back. In the end most restaurants have that non-hand washer and sometimes mice but you just don’t see it, this place still has the best SUSHI!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luric21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanta K, General Manager at Tara Temple, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Management's Response

It's good to know you enjoyed our sushi and that you will return. I regret the overall dining experience didn't exceed your expectation during your last visit. "If you see something, say something'.

Best regards,

Kanta K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service and food at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Under new management explains the recent transformation. The vast Asian menu and attentive service made a late night with friends and evening to remember. Thank you new management.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MwahMwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Thai in the 'burbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Well prepared food, nice ambiance. Wonderful to be able avoid all the ordinary choices.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank raiatea5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They Ran Out of Rice!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This place is more like a club than a restaurant so the seating isn't very comfortable and the sushi bar ran out of rice once when we went there for lunch! What sushi restaurant runs out of rice?!?! During another visit a cockroach was seen at the sushi bar by one of my coworkers.

The day they ran out of rice, the management handled it poorly. They didn't tell us until the food was ready to be served and then they offered us complimentary soup and salad - which was supposed to come with our meals anyway - to make up for the fact that not all of us were getting sushi. When we asked for a free appetizer instead we got a lot of push-back. I'll never go back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank K8inVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Temple also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Tara Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing