We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always very good”

Thai In Shirlington
Ranked #84 of 880 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Brasília
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Always very good”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Good food, nice place, good service, good value, easy access. I really recomend for those visiting Washington, DC.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Averbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    54
    21
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
1,602 reviews
832 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
“Fine Thai Food in a Neighborhood Setting”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Another cold Saturday evening leading to the inevitable search for a warm, cozy restaurant to escape the chill and fill empty stomaches brought us back to Thai in Shrlington. A good-sized restaurant with a large and diverse menu, "The Thai" is a welcoming place with an embracing group of greeters and an attentive waitstaff. Their offerings are typical Thai with a full range of beef, pork and seafood coupled with rice and noodles and immersed in various sauces. Note, however, the specials before jumping into the rest of the menu -- you will find some dishes that will become favorties for future visits. Ample portions make for filling meals. It is a noisy but vibrant setting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Loved it ! Excellent meal...great service.”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Had an exceptional meal here.
High quality servers helps too.
It was a cold night when we went there - but very warm & pleasant inside.
All of our meal was great...
Pan Seared Squash Pot-stickers
Gren Curry Chicken (yes that's the name)
Drunken Seafood Lomein...yummy
Room for dessert? Mango sweet sticky rice was fab.
Really can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LFMME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Thai Experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Though not our first visit, we continue to enjoy this place. The service is good and the food is excellent. Ginger root and broccoli and shrimp PAD Thai is what we had, along with some nice glasses of wine, no wonder that this is an often crowded place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant opened in our neighborhood circa 1995, right about the time I started dating the person who is now my husband. We have literally been there 100s of times, and I can honestly say, this restaurant is consistently high quality. We are vegetarians and they have lots of good options for us. The wine list is great. Service is always snappy but they never make you feel rushed. Their desserts are fantasic; they have a pastry chef and make their own ice cream.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai In Shirlington also viewed

 

Been to Thai In Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing