We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent dinner”
Review of Athena Pallas

Athena Pallas
Ranked #53 of 882 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
314 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“An excellent dinner”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We both began with delicious grilled octopus and had lamb shanks in tomato sauce. Service was friendly and prompt. We would have returned on Sunday night, but they were going to be closed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    40
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a great lunch”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice variety with Authentic menu. Really enjoyed the food. We had 8 members of our party. Each person really enjoyed our meal without complaint.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niclmbrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, family atmosphere and the Baklava . . how good was the Baklava!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ate at the Athena Pallas on Saturday evening during long weekend with family in DC. Chose Athena Palllas as it was highly recommended on TripAdvisor – and I have to spend a moment to thank those reviewers for their great feedback. What a great meal we had . . . so a few comments on the place.

Great food, between three of us we had Mediterranian Spreads and Dolmadakia for starters and then Souvlakia Arni (Lamb) for two and Brisola Skaras ((NY Loin Strip Steak) for myself. All came our hot (nothing better than warm Pita bread), cooked to our specification and tasting fantastic. For dessert my wife had a slice of Baklava – when it came out our waiter brought a second plate and 2 forks – just as well, the slice of Baklava was huge (almost too much for two of us).

Atmosphere was very friendly . . when we arrived we felt we were youngest in there (and we’re in our mid forties) but everyone was so nice we felt at home.

Good value, great friendly atmosphere and somewhere you absolutely must try. Much better than our experience at the SkyDome (Doubletree) the following night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Have, FL
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What is the Greek word for welcome?”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lots of restaurants talk about being a family-run establishment, but this is what it really felt like here. I was reminded of walking into a friend's grandmother's house, being seated and then being welcomed thoroughly. Our server seemed to be one of the owners, and was very attentive and good natured. at least part of our group were tempted to tell him to just bring us what he thought we'd like. He made the visit delicious and delightful.
First fair warning, kids are ordering from the main menu. Ours were very happy with their dinner, but some picky eaters may balk. The spicy meatballs were good, and not too spicy for kids. The broiled half-chicken was flavorful but not over-seasoned. The two plates were plenty plus for three kids to share. There was a chicken Marsala special which was really good. The Greek salads that the table shared were good, and the dressing was a good, authentic recipe. The pork chop entree was as good as everyone says. The chicken with pasta was very good, too. We also had a trio of desserts: baklava was just right and tasted fresh, rice pudding was creamy and amazing, the galaktoboureko (phyllo with custard filling) was tender and just sweet enough.
One of the most genuinely enjoyable dinners we've had lately.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PCFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Greek Restaurant with Exceptional Food and Service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Food and service were exceptional. The menu offers a good selection of lunch and dinner meals. Our soups, salads and entres were well prepared and tasty. The breads are served warm and fresh. The wait staff was very attentive. The atmosphere is relaxing and quiet. It is the perfect place for a business lunch or a great dinner after a busy day. We will go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HedoCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena Pallas also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
 
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Athena Pallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing