We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding Greek Food in Crystal City!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athena Pallas

Athena Pallas
Ranked #63 of 862 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Outstanding Greek Food in Crystal City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was in a group of hungry people (some of whom were unsure about Greek food) but we started with a shared large Greek salad and everyone had a different main entree-- lamb shank, roast lamb chops, moussaka, and pastitsio. The food was delicious, the service was efficient, the portions were large, and the prices were moderate. The atmosphere at Athena Passas is that of a family-owned and operated restaurant, and they were friendly and cared about maintaining a high-quality dining experience. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DSNAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    38
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
239 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
“If you like Greek, this is the place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

When we traveled to Athens, Greece, we didn't care for the Greek food that much because it wasn't "Americanized" enough! LOL Here, at Athena Pallas, the Greek food is wonderfully authentic, yet still so Americanized and ever so good.

The service was excellent, drinks always refilled without asking, extra plates presented for each course. But the waiters are Greek, with their dry humor - we love it! For a party of four, we ordered two appetizers: Calamarri (crispy fried squid) and Saganaki (fried and flaming cheese). Both very good. The fresh bread is delivered warm with real butter and replenished when necessary. We ordered one Greek salad (only $6.95) and split it between one couple. It is a BIG salad, not like a side salad, closer to an entree salad - perfect for two persons. We do the same for the entree, ordering one large Greek combination plate ($16.95) and splitting it between two of us...containing spanakopita, moussaka, pastichio, green beans, rice, dolmas. We travel to D.C.only once or twice a year, but the owners somehow remember us (the dreaded cheep-oo's who order a meal and split it!).

We love this quaint Mom & Pop and leave very very FULL without breaking the bank!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MaltaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Going Greek @ Crystal City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Athena Pallas is one of the many long term eclectic restaurants on 22nd and 223rd street in the Crystal City Arlington Virgina venue. This is an authentic Greek eatery owned and operated by a Greek family with long standing history of running restarants. Open Monday through Saturday for lunch and dinner, the restaurant offers a full and varied menu of classical Greek fair. The food is well prepared and the wine list is modest but well priced. Our dinner was well prepared and very tasty. Appetizers of both hot and cold variety range from $5.95 to $9.95 - all are classics of Greece. There is a wide selection of traditional Greek food from $11.95 to $18.50 with only their beef offering in the $22.50 range.

This is a strong contender for a good, no frills greek eatery and is worth a walk away from the other more glitzy offerings a few blocks away. I recommend a visit while it is still around as when it leaves it will take with it one of the "old time" plank holders in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Kind of off the beaten path unless you are staying near Regan airport. But, a nice surprise! Not the best Greek food I've ever had but pretty close. Clearly family owned and operated with the personal touch and lots of locals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LebaRJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff is attentive and knowledgable. A very authentic, very fun family Greek experience. Wish I lived in town, it would definitely be one of my regular stops.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena Pallas also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Athena Pallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing