We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chicken ever!!!”
Review of El Pollo Rico

El Pollo Rico
Ranked #3 of 880 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best chicken ever!!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This chicken is great. Never dry. The white meat is juicy and the seasoning on the skin is one of a kind. The sides are ok, but the chicken is the star.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    110
    37
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good tasting rotisserie chicken”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have to say from reading previous reviews, I was expecting amazing tasting chicken. I was slightly disappointed. It was good but not the greatest. Chicken was moist even the white meat. And as previous reviews indicated I expected something more than white rice as a side, perhaps yellow rice. I would recommend to anyone looking for a budget meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCB_Vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Rotisserie at good prices”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I went try out this rotisserie place because it was featured in Travel Channel hosted by Anthony Bourdain. When you arrive at the location it doesn't look like much and unimpressive. The dining area is plain and basic which feature tables and chairs. We ordered a whole chicken with fries and rice. I was surprised there were no rice and beans or yellow rice available which you typically find in a latin restaurant. The service was fairly quick even with a few people on line. I find the rotisserie chicken to be tasty and the white meat were not typically dry as you would normally find it. The fries came out very good where it was a nice golden color and crisp. Even the rice was cooked the way I like it, not hard or very stick.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BTFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Succulent and Juicy Chicken”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Their menu is simple:
chicken, fries, white rice, coleslaw, 4 desserts and soda/water.

The chicken is spiced wonderfully and the meat is juicy and succulent. The place has a small parking lot and it's packed all the time. I've been here for both lunch and dinner and there are people always waiting in line to get the best chicken in the entire area.

It's the most plain Jane joint you will visit, but the chicken is possible the best I've had anywhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sapamire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just ok chicken and trashy looking restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The place needs some work, I take that back, A LOT of work. It's filthy, it's like they haven't cleaned it in years! It's really gross. The service was good. Chicken was just okay nothing special. It tasted like chicken you could've gotten at Cosco or BJ's. the line was crazy long though. Not sure what the big deal is! I don't know if I'd go back just for the chicken but I'd go back of my friends wanted to!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLifeAlways7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pollo Rico also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA
 

Been to El Pollo Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing