We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of El Pollo Rico

El Pollo Rico
Ranked #3 of 878 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for the best Peruvian chicken in the area, look no further. I work in DC, but we go to Ballston every few weeks to get their chicken. Sides include steak fries and cole slaw, both excellent. If I could eat here every day, I probably would.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    109
    37
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The ne plus ultra rotisserie chicken”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Absolutely the best Peruvian grilled chicken in the area! It's the standard against which I judge all others - and not many even come close. A lovely complex marinade, perfect rotisserie over charcoal, good fries. Not fancy, just a take-out or eat-in at formica tables, but the flavor!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank agriffithva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,045 reviews
842 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,099 helpful votes
“Very satisfying meal”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Peruvian roast chicken is extremely flavourful and exceptionally good value. This place attracts customers from all walks of life.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban MD
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing Peruvian Grilled Chicken at a Great Price”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This restaurant (and its other branches) has been an institution in our area. They have the best Peruvian Grilled Chicken in the Metro area and I should know because I have tried many of the competitors. They also have an super price for the amount and quality of food. In Arlington, they only serve grilled chicken with two sides (french fried and cole slaw) but it is out of this world. People from the entire area come there for lunch and take out and I often pick up take out dinner to take home. Absolutely great place at a great price.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank theorchidlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It isn't just a good value!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

For nearly 20 years, El Pollo Rico has been a favorite. I was initially turned on to the place by Phyllis Richman's "top 50 cheap eats" from the Washington Post, and then by a friend who finally got me to go. He pointed out some things that have stuck with me over the years.

Those who patron the place are like a United Nations of people, but the BEST of the United Nations. Many are South Americans (it IS Peruvian chicken place!). They are a beautiful people, rich in culture. There are Chinese Americans, black, white... blue and white collar. There are old, young... people with kids and even grandkids. The parking lot has work trucks, BMWs and even a Honda like mine. I even saw a limo drive up as I was leaving.

But this would mean nothing if the chicken wasn't heavenly. I don't know what they do to draw out so much flavor. It helps with the jalapeno & yellow-hot mustard dipping sauces. The old-time stake cut fries are the perfect way to get every last bit. NO ketchup for the purist here; it would just be evil. Add some coleslaw and an Inca cola, and the magic begins.

I look around me and see men using their forks; but they are with women or family. Then you see the men like me... solo, and they come with clean hands because they know they will be eating with their fingers. And it WILL be a mess, a lovely mess.

I was told that they can easily sell 3,000 chickens in a day. Sometimes on Saturdays, the line will go out of the door (oh... this place was retro-fitted into a convenience store I think. Nothing fancy, but that IS part of it). Price is really low, but don't let that fool you. My thanks to all that work at this store, and I offer a tribute to the years of great work. Thank you, thank you, thank you. YOU are a big part of the reason I return to the D.C. Metro area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pollo Rico also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA
 

Been to El Pollo Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing