We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air Conditioning was set to "Icy"”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
AMC Courthouse Plaza 8
Ranked #1 of 6 Fun & Games in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Air Conditioning was set to "Icy"”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very cold in there during the summer. I had to get a blanket out of the car. Theater was nice enough. Clean, convenient. Shows some good art house movies.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Draycie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    28
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you have never been here before make sure to get your tickets early. Most show times sell out or the seats you want are not available, especially if you want to sit together. You can check/order the tickets online, at the booth or outside of the theater. Other than that its a great theater with reclining comfy seats! The somewhat “stadium” seating makes the BIG screen easy to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Metroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor selection”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Maybe it was just the time I visited but it had poor selection of movies and were only playing a few but in a very nice area

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheRebel90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot for a late night movie!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The seats are roomy recliners! And ample space between you and the people around you - you feel like you are at home watching the movie!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This is the only theater I'll ever go to again.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I love movies, I HATE going to theaters. I hate inconsiderate people texting and flashing bright screens, people talking through the entire movie, snoring, etc. My husband always wants to go out, but I refuse because I always have the movie ruined by some annoying person.

Until we discovered this theater.

Conveniently located at the Courthouse metro stop, as well as lots of super close, free parking after business hours, this place is already a winner. The limited, intimate seating along with the comfortable, electrically reclining over-sized armchairs made me feel like we were at home. I actually preferred this to watching movies at home, which is saying quite a lot.

When you buy your tickets, you choose your seats. We used our discount coupons from Costco with no problem. Basically this theater costs the same as every other theater, and you get a more intimate setting and a ridiculously comfortable chair. I like that the arm rests even go up so you can snuggle if you feel so inclined.

Anyway, this theater experience far surpasses your average theater, and I like it so much I don't mind spending a few more dollars to enjoy some popcorn and soda which I kick back, which I normally just do without. I will never be satisfied with other movie theaters again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank liliribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AMC Courthouse Plaza 8 also viewed

 

Been to AMC Courthouse Plaza 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing