We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Super staff; feels brand new” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Ballston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super staff; feels brand new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I'm not sure how old the hotel is but it feels brand new. The staff is awesome, just extra friendly and helpful. Our family of 5 stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and it worked great. It was nice to have common space, even with a 2 night stay. Breakfast was fine, above avg for a free breakfast. We ate outside on the patio and it was delightful. We ran outside and didn't use the gym, but it's in 2 rooms and is above avg for a hotel like this.

My only criticism is that the building likely needs another elevator, as we often had to wait a bit. Hard to fix that now.

Room Tip: 2 room suite is more expensive than two 1 room suites but it has 2 queen beds in one room and we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the two bedroom suite fit your needs. Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    67
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
110
25
8
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

New property. Great stay. Too few elevators.

Close to ballston mall (mall sucks) and many bars and restaurants. Great location. Friendly staff. Only complaint in slow elevators/lack of enough elevators. Otherwise, great stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lambskin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your review and I apologize that there was a wait for the elevators. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stay near DC for a few weeks every summer and had stayed at another extended stay hotel for 8 years. We switched to this new one in Arlington and are happy we did.The rooms are well decorated and the kitchen well stocked. Free wifi, large screen TVs, good gym and decent pool make it perfect for a longer stay. The breakfast bar is super, it has hot foods like eggs, sausage, hash browns, oatmeal and a make your own waffle bar with blueberries, cherry sauce, chocolate chips etc. Hotel is near a mall with good shopping options and lots of great restaurants are nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for view of DC. We could see the Washington Monument and Capital Building from our room on 10th...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly, Put your marker on beds to tell them not to change towels and sheets.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trailing-Spouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be your host this year and we are so happy that you were impressed with the hotel. We hope to be your first choice every summer so we can provide you with the same level of service you experienced on this trip.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Arlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We flew into DCA and stayed here two nights. It's about a 6-10 minute walk from the hotel to the nearest Metro stop, although it's about a 30 minute Metro ride from the airport, and requires a connection. The staff is outstanding -- friendly, alert and professional; the common areas are tidy and attractive; our room was clean and spacious. On the first night, the vent was loudly blowing strong gusts of cold air, and when we adjusted the thermostat we could only get it to blow warm air. The second night it was fine, though. The breakfast offerings were varied and plentiful, and the breakfast area was ample. Free WiFi. Overall it was a very good experience, and we would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we love it when you recommend us! Thank you for the nice review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have stayed here often on our visits to Northern Virginia and DC. It close to a Metro and an easy Uber or cab ride to almost anywhere we need to go in the area. The rooms are always clean and the suites are like small apartments. Comfortable and relaxing. You can't beat the price although you don't give up very much for the reasonable cost. The service is wonderful with people working there who seem to actually like their jobs and their guests. The breakfast is always first rate and comes with the room - not your typical cold scrambled egg and dry muffin buffet. Nothing seems lacking at this quality hotel. It is our "go to" hotel when I am staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terps52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We love being your "go to" hotel! We will continue to provide you with the exceptional service and accommodations you have become accustomed to and will also be looking for ways to enhance your experience. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Marriot Residence Inn at Ballston is located about a 5 minute walk from the Ballston metro. There is a Harris Teeter grocery store up the road and the hotel also has a small conveniance store. Staff are excellent, breakfast very good, rooms are very clean. Good place to stay with a dog, as there is a dog walking area across the street - pet fee is 100 dollars. Rooms are spacious, and the kitchen has everything you need. Would definately stay here again. The downsides: 2 elevators for the entire building means you are always waiting for an elevator, not enough seating for breakfast and parking is offered but it is an outrageous 15 dollars a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yukondelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review and it makes us happy to know that both you and your dog had a great stay! We love our guest’s pets and always strive to make them both happy. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Arlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Overall I was pretty impressed with this hotel. Honestly, the most impressive part of this hotel is the front desk staff. We stayed June 28-30th. Every single member of the front desk staff were extremely eager to help and courteous. I hope they are compensated for their above and beyond service mindset. We had a few small issues and they handled them with ease and professionalism.
Now onto the hotel... Parking is on site. I felt it was safe and secure. I like that you need to use a keycard to access any of the floors with guest rooms. That is also a nice safety feature in my mind. The rooms were exceptional clean and the decor was really nice. The maid service was great also. We didn't really have much contact with them. However, passing in the hallway they always gave a warm hello and a smile.
My only down falls of the hotel I would say are the size of the of the pool. The maximum capacity is 9 people. When there are kids in the pool it's wild and crazy. I heard a few adult guests say they wouldn't use it because of this. Breakfast was sort of lacking. I don't blame the staff for this. I saw them frequently trying to replace things. I think maybe they couldn't keep up with the demand of people. Both days most of the food was almost gone or completely gone an hour before the serving time was done. Overall it was a good stay. The hotel is a quick walk to the metro and numerous places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minnielovelils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Our focus on service is a priority, so it is nice to know that we were able to provide a stay that was memorable. We use all guest comments to improve so we will review our breakfast procedures to ensure a positive experience in all areas of the hotel. Thank you for your kind words and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.4 mi away
The Westin Arlington Gateway
The Westin Arlington Gateway
#21 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#18 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Ballston

Property: Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
Address: 650 N. Quincy Street, Arlington, VA 22203
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at the Residence Inn by Marriott® Arlington Ballston. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. And, two separate fitness centers for strengthening your body and soul. Relax and unwind when you want. And stay focused and productive when it's essential. At the Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing