We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service great - food just above average”
Review of Hearthstone Pizza Bistro - CLOSED

Hearthstone Pizza Bistro
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Service great - food just above average”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had a small Caesar salad and a "Meatatarian" pizza. Let me start by saying the staff is very friendly and the service was as much as could be expected. Anywhere.

The salad was fresh, had plenty of sliced cheese and the dressing was tasty, overall very good. The pizza was good too - but not exceptional. Nothing was wrong with it, but it just didn't stand out.

I would certainly come back, but with four other Italian restaurants in the same block, I might try a different one first.

The price was very fair, and once again the service was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IIP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good little Italian place”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The building is a little worn but the food was awesome. I shouldn't admit this but the garlic bread we got as an appetizer was my favorite. Some of the best I have ever had! The kids liked the pizza. My hubby had a sausage roll that was good. I had penne with vodka sauce. It was delicious. I was surprised how few people were there since it is so good. If I come back to DC I will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Subpar Italian Food”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Based on some of the reviews and the high rating on TripAdvisor, we tried Hearthstone. I ordered the spaghetti and meatballs and it was disappointing. The pasta was overcooked, the meatballs had way too much breadcrumbs and had barely any meat flavor. If you're looking for decent pasta, I would go to Noodles & Company on Crystal Drive before coming here. With that said, I might be back to try their pizza but will be weary. Also, there's no beer or wine...more incentive to eat somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdsurfkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

On a whim, went looking for pizza. Were staying at Crystal City Hilton. Walked across Jefferson Davis & went to first place we found. This was it. Were not disappointed. Got it to go, but ended up eating half of it before we left the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, wonderful staff”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Had a really good meal stating with a tasty garden salad made with spring greens, tomato, olives, and marinated artichoke. Followed with their penne- sweet red sauce zucchini, sausage, and mushrooms.

The waitress was warm, friendly, and attentive. This is an informal and easy going place for casual dining. It could easily become a favorite family spot!

Helpful?
Thank Cory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hearthstone Pizza Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing