We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Bike Trail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Vernon Trail

Mount Vernon Trail
Ranked #11 of 87 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Bike Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

One of the best hiking or biking trails in the Washington area. Great views of monuments, airport, Old Town Alexandria, and other scenery. About 35 miles long(round trip) from Roosevelt Island(Teddy) to Mount Vernon. Great for those who are not in the best of shape, but want photo ops with their exercise.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlohaMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    49
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice alternative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We walked this trail 10/3/2013 at 11am. We started at the Crystal City Water Garden and walked all the down to 4 mile trail to visit an IHOP, which my daughter was craving, and a Target store. I don't know what the distance was it was just a pleasant walk. There were plenty of other users from the casual walkers to the runners and bicyclist. Everyone was mindful of each other and very polite. Thinking about taking this trail over the Potomac tomorrow and seeing whether we can visit any of the memorials.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RalphR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Joggin routes are excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Did a few runs around Arlington, there are always joggers around and I felt really safe. Lovely trails.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was informative, well thought out, and a fitting place to learn a bit of history about our first president. Plan to spend a full day here and enjoy the entire facility. A good lunch can be purchased in the eating area in the welcome center. . .they also have a restaurant which may have a waiting list on busy days.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CountryTravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Rented bikes from Bike and Roll Alexandria. Bikes were only OK - not much of an advert for Trek bikes.

Trail is a bit harder than I expected with several short climbs. The final climb into Mount Vernon itself is the hardest. Trail is well maintained and there are much needed water fountains every couple of miles or so. There are decent views from time to time but it mostly follows (but is well separated from) the road so there is an ever present traffic noise. Lots of people out on the trail but even on a Saturday afternoon it didn't seem too crowded.

If you are going into Mount Vernon Estate get your tickets from Bike and Roll before you go. Visitors getting their tickets at the gate have to wait for a timed access to the house. Bike and Roll tickets get you straight in without waiting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Vernon Trail also viewed

 

Been to Mount Vernon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing