We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not a destination in and of itself” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Netherlands Carillon

Netherlands Carillon
Book In Advance
$69.00*
and up
Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour
Phoenix
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a destination in and of itself”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The only reason that we saw this was that we were on our way to the Iwo Jima (USMC) memorial. I understand that it was given in gratitude by the Netherlands, but it does not have the same impact of other memorials.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikimashoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    47
    40
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth seeing and hearing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a beautiful gift from the Netherlands to us. It is worth the time to see the carillon as well as hear it. It plays on the 1/2 hour so you don't have to wait a long time to hear and enjoy it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
616 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Very Pretty, but you can't go up it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was very impressed with the Netherlands Carillon, it is part of the National Parks system, however, when we went there are stairs that go up to the top but they were locked off. The view to the Monuments with a long lens camera is very awe inspiring.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SharieN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
767 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“interesting structure, beautiful chimes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is visible for those going to Iwo Jima. It looks like a large black structure, but has such a beautiful sound.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank breoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, West Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Nice Gift from the Dutch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This gift from the Netherlands shows the gratitude they had for the United States liberating their people. It is a touching story.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Netherlands Carillon also viewed

 

Been to Netherlands Carillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing