We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Curious Grape - CLOSED

The Curious Grape
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Curious Grape is located directly opposite the Shirlington bus terminal on South Quincy Street in Arlington, Virginia.
Description: The destination spot in Shirlington for those with a passion for food and wine, the Curious Grape offers a contemporary seasonal menu of American fare with locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy either full or half portions of selected menu items as well as over 400 wines and 100 craft beers from our store.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

First time in this delightful restaurant worth the thirty miles round trip. We were immediately greeted at the door by the hostess and seated with a server ready to greet us and pour water.
We shared a summer salad of heirloom tomatoes, mozzarella, nectarine chunks, plum pieces, and pine nuts in an almost creamy basil vinaigrette - very tasty! Our entrees were halibut served over black rice and lamb chops served over farro. Both served hot with an attractive presentation. The wine steward made excellent suggestions for pairings A notable item was servers did not hand out utensils but presented any additional needs on a napkin covered tray or plate. Glasses of wine were carried on a tray. Main courses were carried with hot pads away from the servers' clothing. Prices for some items were costly but very worth the expenditure and comparable to the other restaurants in the area though this one bordered more on fine dining in a bistro setting. We will definitely return with friends. One constructive criticism would be the chairs in the dining room are not comfortable though the patio chairs are!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trudee906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Funky lil restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Offers interesting seasonal menu and extensive wine offerings. Eclectic menu. If your a tad adventurous in your menu selections give a try. May not be the best choice for a meat and potatoes kind of guy

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandio24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good but pricey!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This place is a very good place to eat.
However, I believe their are much better values around the corner!
I will eat here again, but only if everything else in Shirlington is booked up!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hvacrsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmagoozen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food and wine bar in Shirlington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

If The Curious Grape were on the main street of Shirlington, it would be packed every night.But, it's just around the corner from the main "restaurant row". Last night was our third visit. Go now and get their seasonal appetizer- heirloom tomato and mozzarella salad with mint pesto. So fabulous!! Friendly, intelligent service. Nice menu with just enough choices. Great focaccia style bread to start. Lovely dining rooms.
A nice feature of the wine list is that you can get a 3 oz or a 6 oz pour. Some main dishes also come in two sizes so you can take a "little dishes" approach to dinner if you wish. Even when full, it is quiet enough to have easy conversation.
The place also has a deli/bakery/cheese counter and wine shop for takeaway items. Gives the place a nice, neighborly feel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susanmagoozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch - can't wait to return for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We visited on Father's Day - I had never been there before and had a Specialicious coupon. We were pleasantly surprised - there were 5 of us; and we were starving. The service started off slow but ended up being fine. It is a small restaurant but the food is phenomenal and the wine selection is great.

3 of us had the mushroom omelet which was perfect - mine was egg whites only, 2 had the lavender French toast which had this almond butter on the plate and was served with maple syrump. A few people got the homemade English muffin which was served with a goat cheese spread with some herbs. The bacon was excellent, and the sausage is made on premise.

They have a good selection of coffees; and their desserts looked great although we did not try any as we were full.

The Carlyle restaurant around the corner was very full on Father's day - and if people knew better, they would have stepped around the corner and gone to the Curious Grape!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisalisa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curious Grape also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing