We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Shirlington Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Curious Grape - CLOSED

The Curious Grape
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Curious Grape is located directly opposite the Shirlington bus terminal on South Quincy Street in Arlington, Virginia.
Description: The destination spot in Shirlington for those with a passion for food and wine, the Curious Grape offers a contemporary seasonal menu of American fare with locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy either full or half portions of selected menu items as well as over 400 wines and 100 craft beers from our store.
Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Shirlington Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

it is more than a neighborhood gen, fits price range of everyone, as small plates are offered s well as full menu items that change regularly. A variety of wines and beers by the glass are available, and a wonderful retail shop with cheeses several dollars cheaper than the cheese shop down the street. The ownes and staff make an effort to get to know every customer. A wonderful addition to Shirlington, and frankly, it's only ten minutes from DC on I-395 South.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dressygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,482 reviews
756 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
“The New Kid on the Block in Shirlington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Another restaurant has opened its doors in the Village of Shirlington! It is a welcome addition with its focus on pairing good wine with very good food. The menu is lilmited but interesting with a creative touch to appetizers, soups, salads, entrees and desserts. The entrees come in two sizes so there is opportunity to create a meal with three to four courses and not feel "stuffed." The wine pairings are very interesting with a broad selection for coupling with each main course. The wait staff is attentive and knowledgeable, particularly in making suggestions about these pairings. A recent addition is a 10% off coupon that comes with the check, an encouragement to shop in the wine section for a bottle to take home. Your foray into the back part of the restaurant will allow you to discover what many Arlington folks already know -- The Curious Grape has been renown for a number of years as a high quality wine store with an extensive inventory. Their new restaurant clearly builds on that tradition.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I have twice thoroughly enjoyed our dinners there. All the food is interesting, well-prepared and presented, and was the right portion size. Of course the wines they offer with the meals are excellent also. The service at times seemed just a bit rushed, but was very friendly. The place has been busy but not too loud.
I actually like their wine selection and layout less than in the old shop, but the restaurant is a great addition.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendelfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I went to The Curious Grape for brunch after seeing it rated as one of the top ten restaurants in the area. The restaurant was curiously not packed. I thought that, because of its recent high rating and then after eating brunch I was even more curious why the restaurant why more people weren't dining there. We both started with the mini pastry selection - five different pastries, all fresh and tasty. I tried the butternut squash soufflee, perfectly cooked. My husband was a bit more hungry so he ordered the spice-roasted chicken with mascarpone spaetzle, chanterelle mushrooms and smoked paprika. We ate there probably three weeks ago,and he still maintains that was the best chicken he has ever eaten. We are going back there soon for dinner, their dessert menu has listed "frozen mimosa mousse with sparkling snow" - I must try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Spot but a Bit Overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Curious Grape is a great addition to Shirlington. It has the vibe of a casual bistro where you can enjoy nice wines, a snack, just dessert, or a full meal. The kitchen offers up creative and delicious high end cuisine with the attractive option of ordering many dishes as as full or half-size portions. The great service and 30% discount on selected wines by the glass were defintely appreciated. The limited pre-theater fixed price menu is a nice offering albeit at $30 pp is about $5 over priced, considering the lower-cost chicken and pasta options. Our appetizers included the scallops, wild boar empanada and wild mushroom soup -- each was just superb. For mains, the short rib was tasty but overpriced at $27 for one smallish portion of a cheaper cut of meat. Penne pasta was a tiny bit chewy and could have used a minute longer in the pot, but that's really a nit. All the flavors were top notch and on par with the best restauraunts on town.

Our Sunday supper for 4, with a glass of wine each, was $180 w/ tax and tip which in this diner's mind is 20% overpriced for the portion sizes and location.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thadzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curious Grape also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing