We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to DC with a reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Convenient to DC with a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2007

Our family of four stayed here for three nights in April. Hotels in DC were either booked up or too expensive. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

I requested a two queen room with a rollaway. When we arrived the person checking us in said that a rollaway wouldn't fit in a two queen. The other person (I'm sorry I didn't get her name - a very personable, helpful young woman (note to management: she's a keeper!)) at the desk said if they switched us to a certain room they could fit the rollaway and we were all set. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The area was quiet, very little street noise. On-site self-parking was available.

We took took the Metro into DC two days. It was a five minute walk from the hotel to the Metro and only a few stops into the city. The hotel is in the courthouse area and is kind of deserted at night - we ate at an unimpressive sports bar up the street. There were some other restaurants around, but it's not a big area for nightlife from what I could see.

  • Liked — Size of room, convenience to DC
  • Disliked — The day our room wasn't made up until late.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    386
    124
    46
    33
See reviews for
300
203
79
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2007

Hilton Garden Courthouse Plaza has to be one of the best chain hotels I have ever stayed in. Everything was perfect from check in to
checkout. First the location diagonally opposite from the exit of the
Courthouse Metro stop. What could be more convenient? In 10 to
15 minutes you can be anywhere in the area of Washington that tourists would be interested in. Check in was a breeze, very professionally handled and friendly. Although we did not use it, the
lobby was very attractive and welcoming. Elevators were obviously
well maintained, and we rarely had to wait more than a few seconds
to get one. Our room, a minimum rate standard King was perfect.
It was well furnished, spacious, and meticulously clean. The bath,
too, was spacious, well maintained, well lighted and thoroughly
cleaned every day we were there. It was well supplied with Neutragena cosmetics which housekeeping resupplied frequently.
At $119 per night that room was the best bargain in Metro
Washington, where anything halfway respectable was over $200.
As other reviewers have said, the restaurant was kind of pricey for
what it was, especially at breakfast, which was mediocre. We did
have a very nice fruit plate on our first night there, when we had
indigestion from a very bad lunch at the Union Station food court,
and were too tired from our trip to Washington to go looking for a
restaurant. On another night we had a quite good meal in an
Italian restaurant in the Courthouse Plaza open mall. Checkout
was a total breeze. Our bill was was slipped under our door on
departure morning and all we had to do was hit a zip button on the room phone to confirm to the friendly person who took the call
that the bill was OK, and we were on our way. What else can I say about this excellent hotel? I would recommend it to anyone
who was visiting Washington. You get a great hotel near con-
venient transportation for half the price of any decent hotel in the city. Also, if it is a possibility, I would going to Washington on Amtrak. I have made this drive many times, but this trip on the train was far easier.

  • Liked — Well furnished, well maintained meticulously clean room at a reasonable price and great location.
  • Disliked — Nothing important enough to mention
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetostayeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

This hotel was perfect for me & my family - first of all, great room (very clean, clean bathroom, free internet, microwave, fridge, washable fresh comforter & comfortable bed). The hotel itself was all about convenience & courtesy. Fresh baked cookies, fresh fruit (both free at the front desk), a little store open 24h by the desk. Walking distance to the Metro, walking distance to a bunch of cute restaurants (we ate at the Irish Pub, which was great). The fitness room was perfect, fresh towels, water, individual TVs, latest equipment. Really a pleasure to stay here, highly recommend.

  • Liked — Loved everything
  • Disliked — $10/day to park, but it was ok.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sorcellerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2007

This was my first stay at a Hilton Garden Inn and I was very pleased with the hotel. The bed was very comfortable, and the room had a microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was clean with a granite countertop and Neutrogena products. Location was convenient to the Metro and restaurants. I didn't eat at the hotel restuarant, but the buffet looked delicious and the staff were very friendly. Starbucks coffee is complimentary and is available all day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsafe2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2007

Quiet, clean, safe location. 5 minute walk to Courthouse Metro stop.
Helpful front desk staff. Comfortable room. Lots of nearby restaurants. "Ragtime" Bar/Restaurant next door has great happy hour
$2.50 Microbrew drafts, and on Tuesday's had $2.95 seafood appetizers. Only complaint was Hotel did not have a pool. We would have really appreciated a nice hot tub for our sore muscles after walking around DC all day. $10/day parking in the Hotel garage is a good deal for the area also. Would consider staying there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No pool or Hot tub
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Irisgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2007

Apart from one minor glitch with the in-room movie system (and the patronizing twit that tried to 'help' fix it), I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable, while the amenities were quite extensive (aside from the movies, it was possible to access Nintendo games, a CD jukebox and the internet through the TV; a good alarm clock/radio with an MP3 socket; fridge; microwave; coffe maker and very comfortable easy chair/ottoman). Although the breakfast was a little expensive ($12.50 plus tax) there was a good selection, and my one room service order was comparitively cheap and very tasty. The 'Pavillion Pantry', selling a range of foodstuffs, toiletries etc, was a bonus, particularly for picking up a nice cold drink at the end of a long day. Also, staff (with the exception of the movie guy mentioned above!) were polite and efficient at all times.

Location-wise, the hotel couldn't be better. The Metro, which will take you quickly and cheaply to anywhere in DC and the surrounding area that you might want to go to, is only a few minutes walk away and really is the best Metro system I've ever travelled on - as someone who would normally avoid going underground at all costs, that really is a big compliment. Having said that, if you've any vertigo issues then I'd recommend using the elevators, as the escalators at some stations (particularly the Woodley Park stop, generally used for the wonderful zoo) are scarily high and really do seem to go on forever! There's also a 24-hour CVS right by the Metro to serve almost all of your needs, and a number of nice bars/restaurants too (try 'Ragtime', right next door to the hotel, for a great bar menu).

Visiting DC can be ridiculously expensive when it comes to finding decent accommodation in a nice area, which is why on my last two visits I've chosen a hotel in Arlington. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this course of action, and particularly this hotel, to others as it really does seem to strike the perfect balance between quality, cost and access to all the sights.

  • Liked — Overall comfort, and convenience of the location
  • Disliked — Noisy A/C
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2007

Spent four days here on a vacation to see Washington DC. I got a great rate on this hotel ($100) which is well under the rack rate.

Overall, an excellent stay here. As you'd expect for this chain, the rooms were large, well equiped and clean. In addition, this hotel is in a good location for getting to DC, with a metro station about a block away (diagonally across a parking lot & occasional market area). Desk staff were very friendly. The business services were excellent: free wireless, free faxing, copying and printing (including printing from your room with ability to collect later). While this was a vacation, I was closing on a home at the same time and the fax, printer and copier were a lifesaver to completing my home loan and purchase.

Did not eat breakfast, but did have dinner here (very good, slightly expensive as you'd expect from a hotel). The lobby had a small store - geat for purchasing single serving washing powder to do laundry in the on-site laundry rooms.

A few restaurants in walking distance, or take the subway somewhere more active. I ate at a Thai restaurant near the subway station and it was excellent (I forget the name, though). I did not have a car, but that was no problem getting around. Area felt very safe at night.

  • Liked — Location, business services
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amoose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Centric Arlington
Hyatt Centric Arlington
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
0.5 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#13 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
Address: 1333 N Courthouse Rd, Arlington, VA 22201-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Arlington
#19 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#27 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
193 room upscale hotel located in the heart of Arlington's Courthouse neighborhood. Our hotel is located directly across the street from the Courthouse Metro station on the Orange and Silver line of Washington DC's subway system. Ideally situated for both business and leisure travelers the Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse is a great choice for your next visit to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza Hotel Arlington
Arlington Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing