We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2006

We spent 4 nights at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Arlington, Virginia.

Even though this hotel was a 20-25 minute train ride into Washington, it was in a good location and around the corner from a variety of bars and restaurants in Crystal City. It was only a 5 minute walk away to the train station so it was easy to get into Washington to do some sightseeing. Having the airport only a 5-10 min shuttle ride away (which was offered free by the hotel) was also useful.

Our room was large, clean and comfortable and had a nice king size bed. The hotel also has laundry facilties (washer and dryer) which we took full advantage of.

Other pros for this hotel were the free internet access in the business centre and notably the complimentary full breakfast which was fantastic.

Our only criticism for this place was the front desk staff - we found them to be largely unhelpful and disinterested.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would come here again.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jez&Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    575
    135
    44
    21
See reviews for
659
315
89
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

Stayed for 6 nights at the Hampton Inn and Suites, Reagan National Airport.

I was extremely pleased with my stay. This hotel is a great value.

I'll break down the stay into categories:

Front desk: Very nice, professional, and helpful. At the end of our stay, the hotel manager even helped carry out bags to the airport shuttle. There were minor problems with one of the two rooms I booked and the front desk comped me one night's stay, even though I didn't ask and although they had made an effort previously to fix it. Check in and out was quick and easy.

Service: Was great and friendly. This is NOT a full service hotel so keep that in mind but when called upon, the workers are very friendly. Caveat: Housekeeping leaves at 4:30 pm so if you need supplies try to call before if you can. However, the front desk will do its best to assist you if you miss them.

Rooms: I got two king suites (described on their site as "NSMK/1RM SUITE/KNG BED/SOFA BD/MICRO-FRIG"). Very clean, very large. There was a kitchenette with a fridge and microwave, drawers, sink, and coffeemaker. They also included coffee, tea, and popcorn. There was a pullout sofa bed, a table with two chairs and a phone that could serve both for dining and work (it had the highspeed Internet connection jack). The bed had two nightstands with lamps, one had a phone, and one had one of the Hilton chain's trademark digital clocks. The TV swiveled toward both the sofa and the bed.

The bed was very comfortable. A tip: if you find the duvet too warm to sleep under, take out the regular blanket from the closet and use it instead.

The bathroom was large, with the shower and toilet in a separate area from the sink (which had a large counter) and mirror. The shower curtain curved out for additional space, and the shower head had multiple settings. I had good water pressure each day. Towels were plush and plentiful. Toiletries included shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash, shoe mitt, shower cap. There is a nightlight, too.

Dining: No restaurant on site but not needed. There are many good restaurants a block or so away on 23rd Street. The area feels safe even at night so walking to them is easy but you can also request a ride from the hotel shuttle. This shuttle is free and the driver very nice. It'll also take you anywhere else within a mile of the hotel. I recommend Legal Sea Foods and Matsutake. Crystal City Sports Pub was ok.

This hotel is also right next door to a Radisson. This meant that, unlike with other Hamptons I've stayed at, room service was available. Used it the first night and found the prices very affordable and the service quick and friendly. I am surprised no one mentioned this in other reviews. Also, it's possible to order out from the nearby area restaurants on 23rd street. Most would deliver for free.

One night the hotel offered free dinner to celebrate Oktoberfest. It wasn't the greatest food but was pretty good and a nice touch.

The complimentary breakfast was the best I've had at a Hampton. It offered 12 cold cereal brands; instant oatmeal; many pastries, donuts, English muffins, and breads; refrigerated (not just put on ice) yogurt and butter; coffee, tea, juices, water; rotating warm component (while I was there the offerings included scrambled eggs with ham; waffles -- take them from the bottom of the container though because otherwise they're rock hard; French bread sticks; biscuits and gravy; egg/sausage/biscuit breakfast sandwich); and fresh fruit. Food staging area was very big and never backed up. The dining area also was very large and handled large crowds well.

I never used it, but there is also the Hampton on the go breakfasts, too. See the hotel website for details.

Gym: Not bad. It's probably about 20 feet long, 10 feet wide, had a couple of treadmills and a weight machine station. I was able to get complete workouts.

Pool: Bifurcated hours: 6 am - 10 am and then 6 pm - 10 pm. Lifeguard on duty. Indoors. Water was kind of cool but not bad. Very clean. Only 4 1/2 feet deep at its deepest. Lots of towels and chairs. Never was crowded.

Lobby: Nice -- many sofas and chairs, newsstand with the USA Today on weekdays, and there was a little shop where you could buy supplies, snacks, and beverages. TV and couch in the dining area. Tea and coffee available 24-7.

Area: Very clean, very safe, and as stated elsewhere, many conveniences nearby. Reagan Airport only 5 minutes away, too.

Noise: Rooms were very quiet and easy to darken. Never heard other rooms. Could kind of hear airplanes but the HVAC masked this out and made this a non-issue. Was on 4th floor so traffic noise wasn't an issue though room overlooked main drag called Jefferson Davis Highway.

Intangibles: Right next door to the Radisson was an Enterprise Rent-a-car. Crystal City Metro Station is only about a 5 minute walk and it serves TWO lines -- blue and yellow. Yellow takes you right into DC in less than 10 minutes. (By the way, the best way to walk to the metro is by going back through the lobby toward the elevators, past the conference room and pool and gym, and out onto Eads Street. Take a right once you emerge from the hotel and cross one street, then walk until you reach the next street with a Sheraton at the corner. Turn right again, walk under the overpass, then cross the street to the metro. Very easy!) With the Metro, not only is DC easily reached, but so are Arlington Nat'l Cemetery, the Pentagon, and Alexandria.

I loved my stay here. The price was unbeatable for the DC area. Access to DC was extremely easy and fast. There were so many amenities nearby with the restaurants and Crystal City Shops (little mall like shops in the tunnels under Crystal City that connect to hotels and the metro, etc.) I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Area, access to DC, price
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — see my review regarding the metro, duvet, and housekeeping
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank TravelCubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

My husband and I had to travel to the Arlington area on business for a week and this hotel was perfect. All rooms are not created equal however so I called ahead and asked for one of the larger rooms. We were in a room ending in 23 (the first number is the floor number) and it was spacious. Room ending in 16 is across from the ice machine and is one of the smaller rooms so avoid that one.

We ate at Legal Seafoods one night and the crabcakes were really good. If you are wanting to go there after 6 pm, be sure to make reservations. We were exhausted one evening and wanted room service. We called to order but the menu in the room wasn't up-to-date so they had someone bring the new menu to us. It is called 20/20 Bistro and I must say the crabcakes were every bit as good as the ones at Legal, if not better. The prices were very competitive. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't have the energy to go out to eat.

Take a right out of the parking garage and there is a huge grocery store a few miles down the street on the left. No noise from airplanes at all and the staff and, of course, the breakfast were good as usual.

  • Liked — Location, price, complimentary breakfast, room size.
  • Disliked — No restaurant in hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for larger room.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Brookshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2006

My wife and I and our three teenagers stayed at the Hampton for 6 nights as our home base for touring DC. We picked this hotel because it served breakfast and was close to a Metro station. On both counts it was a good choice. We also liked the size of the king suite, which had a separate bedroom. The microwave and fridge allowed us to cook up some low-cost dinners which helped us save vacation funds. The room was approximately $200/night for the room.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ordeal_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 51 in Arlington
1,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#15 of 51 in Arlington
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Address: 2000 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Arlington
#4 Family Hotel in Arlington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Hampton Inn And Suites Reagan National Airport
Hampton Inn Arlington
Arlington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing