We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard property, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Standard property, excellent location”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Hampton Inn property is located in crystal city, VA in arlington, VA. It is located very close to Reagan National Airport (DCA) as well as close to the crystal city metro stop as well. There is an airport shuttle that takes you from the hotel to the airport. The crystal city metro stop is about 5 minutes walk away and very convenient to access all sights in DC. There is also close access to the VA rail system but mostly for commuters.

We stayed in one of the suites, the room was spacious - with a front room and a back bedroom. Plenty of space (counter) as well as a small microwave and refrigerator and an outside sink as well. There was a sofa bed outside and a standard king size bed inside. As with all hampton properties, wifi was free and quite reasonably fast. There is also a business center/fitness center. Parking is $15/day unlike other properties outside of DC where parking is free. The parking lot is located below the property and has its own separate elevators to access.

The real draw of this hotel is the location - the rates on the wkend are very reasonable, but during the weekdays the rates are comparable to a DC hotel. Their breakfast was very good, but also very busy - they turned around on the food literally every 15-20 minutes due to the high number of guests. The place seemed pretty full when we came in november.

I would stay again at this place if i was looking for a nice property close to DCA, close to DC metro.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trekkersocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    575
    135
    44
    21
See reviews for
659
315
89
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Every May, my colleagues and I make a pilgrimage to Washington, D.C. and we choose to stay in Arlington, right around the corner from Reagan National Airport. This Property is exceptional in it's staff and accommodations for the price (which is rising each year). We have been at this hotel for the last 5 years during May. And the only downside is some group(s) on some senior trips bring their high schoolers through, and they tend to try to monopolize the property with respect to the common areas. Not a good thing for all the other guests. I'm sure this is not likely other times of the year. Just a caveat if you choose to stay at this property during the Spring.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corners are generally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uberabqdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times now while in DC and we always have a positive experience. The place is affordable, especially during the weekends when rates are cheaper. The breakfast is good and free and a shuttle takes you from Reagan national which means you don't actually need a car when in DC because the hotel is minutes walk away from the Metro. You are of course staying a bit further from city center, but the Metro makes the city accessible. This time we were travelling with our baby daughter and the staff got a room ready for us early and set up a folding cot, which was good. There was also a refrigerator and microwave in the room, which was helpful for keeping and warming up meals. I think in the future as long we travel with a child, we will prefer a place that has a more secluded area for her to sleep so that we can keep lights on/watch tv etc. after she goes to bed, but, for singles or couples without children, this would be ideal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marstar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In the USA, I always opt fo a Hampton Inn and tge experience is always excellent. A home away from home. Very friendly and jolly staff from the time I checkedin till I cheked out. Good breakfast included in tariff as always. Good gym so very necessary fir persons like me. Only complaint if at all it may be treated as a complaint - I was made to wait more than half an hour for the complimentary pick-up from Pentagon Mall for which the coutreous driver was more than apologetic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krajan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is very good in terms of location (a shuttle ride away from Ronald Reagan Airport), just around the corner from the Metro (which gets you to Downtown DC, Arlington, Alexandria etc), a walk away from the Pentagon (15 mins). Breakfast is OK and there are several decent restaurants around the hotel. Staff are so-so.

But ..... once again on our trip and staying at a Hampton Inn, our room was drab. It was brown - brown stripey wallpaper (which was peeling in one area), brown patterned carpet, brown furniture, not even the pictures on the walls had any color in them.

Lumpy, hot duvets (which we removed and replaced with blankets) and an old bathroom.

When I asked how old the hotel was I was informed it had been remodelled 18 months ago! Really? So why did we have peeling wallpaper in our room, wallpaper which did not even reach the ceiling in places, shower head which barely worked properly, and a bathroom door which had stained and peeling paint on the lower inside edge? (The peeling wallpaper did get repaired while we were there). Maybe they missed our room.

One good aspect was that, although the hotel is on a busy intersection, they must have used good insulating windows because we did not hear any traffic at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jennyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielM587, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and apologize for the condition of your room, furniture and bathroom while staying with us. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Again we apologize for the issues and we hope you will come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while we were in DC to visit the sites. As tourists to most cities I find it hard to find hotels that mark all my boxes and this one did. It has a great breakfast, it picks you up and drops you off at the airport and it is really close to public transportation. We stayed four nights, Friday through Tuesday. During the weekend the lobby and breakfast are much busier. We did have one issue one morning with an elevator. We waited about 10 minutes for an elevator and finally it came. We were on the top floor (10th) and stoped at every floor on the way down. By the 7th floor we were full and every time we stopped the people looked so disappointed. I think they use the 2nd elevator for maids and housecleaning during the mornings so it causes it to get backed up just a little bit.

Room: Overal we loved our room. Huge bed! Clean room! Housekeeping was great! Breakfast was above average even for Hampton Inn's. Our room was on the very top close to the elevator. Tip- Ask for a room away from the elevator and on the 9th floor or below. I think the elevator mechanisms were right above our heads! So every time the elevator moved up and down it made a little bit of noise. It wasn't too bad but I am a very light sleeper especially in a different environment.

Metro: It was about 2 blocks from the Crystal City metro station which is how we got pretty much everywhere. If you do decide to walk to the metro make sure you go out the back door of the hotel. Then turn right, walk a block and a half, go under the bridge and the subway stop is right there on the left side of the street. Very convenient. We were able to get into downtown DC very quickly. Anywhere from about a 15 minute subway ride to 20/25 minutes depending on your exact destination.

Location: The location is very safe and we wandered around at night trying to find restaurants. We found a little strip of bars and restaurants on the opposite side of the subway station. Out the front door, make a right. Go to the stop lights and make another right and go a block. It seemed like a very trendy neighborhood that is very safe but fun!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dazyabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice hotel, especially for being in the DC area. Has some updates, bathroom still needs to be updated. Had a corner roon, which was good sized. Nice room with a good price for DC. Enjoyed the short overnight stay.

Next time I will be in DC, I would consider this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkSurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 51 in Arlington
1,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#15 of 51 in Arlington
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Address: 2000 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Arlington
#4 Family Hotel in Arlington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Hampton Inn And Suites Reagan National Airport
Hampton Inn Arlington
Arlington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing