We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Started as a truck; I would chase it down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of District Taco

District Taco
Ranked #99 of 834 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Started as a truck; I would chase it down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Could be compared with Chipotle or Baja Fresh but, for our money, much better. Have tried the beef and breakfast tacos so far and both are TDF. Everything is fresh and, of course, made to order. There is usually a long line but it moves quickly. They take your order at the register and then deliver the food to your table. Two special treats: soft drink that are not the usual Coke or Pepsi products but reasonably priced and a buffet of salsas of varying heat and pick de gallo.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FSR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent food. We particularly love their breakfast tacos. Delicious! And their hot salsa is the best that we've found in our area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nirvanafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“District taco always fresh and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The tacos and salads are delicious. The guacamole is great quality. The service is friendly and efficient and the salsa bar is spicy. What more is there?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 543Janb543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are from Texas where there are mexican restaurants on almost every corner and we eat mexican food 1-2x per week. So while traveling in the DC area we needed a mexican food fix and found District Taco. We were not disappointed. In fact we went back twice during our week long stay in DC it was so good. We had various versions of their tacos, chicken, carnitas (pork) and beef, all were excellent. Order them as per their menu the "mexican way" which means onions and fresh chopped cilantro added on top, this is the way they are made in Mexico. Their salsas are also excellent, with choices of green (tomatillo), mild and hot red sauces. It was obvious all the salsas were fresh made in house, we know our salsas and these were all awesome. The restaurant was very busy on both visits but ordering is quick and your food comes out fast. Top off your taco with a cold Corona and you cant go wrong. If you want authentic mexican food (Yucatan style) in the DC area this is the place to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Weak....Chipotle Is All It Is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Look, I was ready, so ready to like this place.

How disappointing.

First of all, no crispy shell tacos. Which strikes me as pretty lame. Secondly, the food that I did end up ordering is just nothing special. It is basic. Sorry, but it really had nada to speak of. Without sauces? Bland. It is Chipotle or anyone else serving burritos or whatever in flour wraps. Chewy & boring.

The environment reminded me of a cafeteria. Or a Roy Rogers, lawd help us all. The fixin's bar was RR all the way. And the place was a pigsty, with sauces & condiments splashed about. Unappealing!

You want good tacos, good food, I'd recommend El Paso Cafe on Pershing in Arlington. I won't waste more money at District Taco.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fawlcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District Taco also viewed

 

Been to District Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing