We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Top Hotel for DC Sightseeing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top Hotel for DC Sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

Had a great two days with my family here between Christmas and New Year, sightseeing in DC. Easy in and out on 395 but use "1700 S Eads St" for your GPS/Tom Tom. Because it is a business hotel and close to Pentagon, it was practically empty and we we were upgraded to a suite on the 16th floor which was great. Staff were really friendly and could not do enough for you - porter joked with the kids (8 and 10) and then presented them with a free movie voucher! Room was really good and beds particularly good, even a full size roll-away bed. Kids loved being up high and watching traffic and life below. Pool + jacuzzi excellent but gym more functional rather than state-of-the-art. Hotel really well served by a huge variety of restaurants (Crystal City Shops Food Court and S 23rd St) and a local 7-11 (front desk has a good map). Charlie Chiang's Chinese restaurant was top drawer. Easy access to metro. We drove to Cesar's Diner for breakfast (2 blocks south) which was typical diner fare and the kids liked it (free parking to rear). We did not use Valet Parking ($27 per day) at the hotel. The streets were not busy so we parked on the street (meters between 0800-1800 with an overall twelve hour limit - only 75c per hour and too easy during holiday period). We even drove up to the Mall and Museums etc and found parking easy and free (which we would never experience in our native UK). All seemed to work well on this occasion, despite the DC cold, and worked out cheaper than the central hotels.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMcGovernFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    522
    165
    45
    30
See reviews for
290
177
89
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

Lovely , warm and cozy. The staff was courteous. Concierge reccommended good palces to eat

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rocknfilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

The Crystal Gateway is my place to stay anytime I am in the DC area. The DC metro has a station for the blue and yellow lines that can be accessed through a sub-level walkway. Reagan National is one metro stop from the hotel. DC is just a couple stops away on the yellow line. There's an underground mall that can be accessed from the same walkway as the metro. The mall has numerous food choices and stores to get almost anything you need. The room I had on this trip was great ...recently upgraded, great view, clean and a large flat panel tv.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runner_Hal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

Room was very large, king on the 16th floor. High end Bath & Body lotion and shampoos in bathroom. Very convenient to Metro. Front desk staff could be friendlier. There was a very larg convention there when we were and everything was still very clean. The turndown service left little surprises on our pillow each night. Very comfortable bed!! Pool area was in a tropical like atrium setting, was a bit interesting to have dinners from the neighboring restaurant in the hotel be able to see into this area. Had a lifeguard on duty. Will def stay there again, very happy.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2getaway31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

A group of friends along with myself stayed at this hotel for 4 nights Oct 15-19. Service at this hotel far surpassed any 5 star luxury property. Its located above the Crystal City Shops and eateries, as well as the Metro Station. Breaksfast was included in our rate, and we were treated each morning like royalty. For lunch or dinner, I HIGHLY recommend the Hamburger Hamlet in the Crystal City shoppes (ask for Olivia) she is the best server in town. The Hamlet is also the ONLY place in town that offers a happy hour from 3pm-7pm EVERYDAY OF THE WEEK ON EVERYTHING AT HE BAR. apps and all drinks are half off. the next place i would suggest is the King Street Blues restaurant and bar also located in Crystal City Shoppes, Their RIBS are DC"S FINEST. If you are arriving in town by train or place and have no transportation to get around This Hotel is the perfect spot. Like i said before, the metro is located directly under he hotel. There is a tunnel that is safe and guarded that leads you through the crystal shoppes and to the metro (blue line) you can travel anywhere you need to by metro. i cant say enough about this property. My friends and i are have already booked a return trip for the next couple of weeks. WE LOVED IT and you will too

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arunkk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
191 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

This is a fine hotel for business. I stayed here for two nights for a conference. With Marriott, you can usually rely on a clean, efficient, well-run hotel, and this one certainly fits that description. The location is very good for business in and around DC. I really had no complaints, and so would give it five stars, except it's just . . . well . . . lacking in personality. It does everything well, but it's just a big, impersonal hotel. A very good one, but not memorable. I tend to prefer a place with a bit more character. But if what you are looking for is a clean, convenient, comfortable business hotel, I would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoseyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

Very conveniently located with access to metro and underground galery, jogging/cycling path just at the exit behind the underground galery on Crystal Drive. The Pentagon City fashion mall is within walking distance and is a nice stroll. Under $20 breakfast buffet of excellent quality. I just piggied there and skipped lunch. Excellent rooms with big flat TV, everything very clean and nice beds, smily personel except maybe at the reception desk but much better than average for Arlington, which can be rough on travellers. It is actually after what I considered a rough treatment by the Sheraton manager next door that I landed at the Marriott and I don't regret it in the least. Also very silent rooms though internet is not included ~$13.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing