We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Happening City Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Happening City Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Gateway Marriott is a little bit of an older hotel with some upgrades. You can't beat the proximity to the metro and dining options though. It was bustling during our stay over Palm Sunday weekend but we never felt crowded. Really, a first rate experience.

The dining room where they serve breakfast, along with the lobby are my favorite areas of the hotel. Clean, modern, light. The pool area is due for some upgrades, but the plants make it feel lush at least.

Our room was comfortable with views over the lobby (second floor), which also gave us continued access to the wifi! The pool and fitness room were right down the hall too so that was convenient as we were traveling with older kids.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chick127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maimy C, Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear chick127,

Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted to see your comments about your experience at our hotel. We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    501
    160
    44
    26
See reviews for
285
164
86
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel was suggested to me for the price and proximity to the Metro, both which cannot be beat. Many of their rates come with either free parking or free breakfast.

Pros:We chose the free parking which was a savings of $56 for a 2 night stay! The hotel was easy to find, parking was convenient.
The room was comfortable, air circulation worked very well. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable, as were the pillows. This was a real plus!
The proximity to the Metro and the shops and restaurants in the mall near the hotel/Metro, makes this an extremely convenient location to the sights in Washington, DC and surrounding areas. There are also many restaurants within walking distance outside of the hotel area.


Cons:The check-in area could use improvement. There was a sign for "online check-in" but I could not find an option available in the hotel for that. There was no discernible line for check-in, so it was up to the people in line to pay attention to who was checking in, and who was next. Once at the counter, the staff was friendly.

I had asked for extra pillows when I made my reservation, which was noted by the check-in staff, but I never received them. I asked again the next day and was assured I would receive them, but did not.
The elevators are EXTREMELY slow..which is so difficult for such a large hotel. It was a very long wait for the elevators from the lobby to hotel rooms.

Although we enjoyed the breakfast buffet, most of the the food was really not hot enough unless it was made to order.

My biggest complaint: The WALLS ARE PAPER THIN. Not just thin....EXTREMELY thin. This is an area that really needs improvement!

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here while we were awaiting the arrival of our granddaughter from Seattle. Shuttle took us back and forth to the airport to get escort passes and to pick up our granddaughter and saved us a lot of time, money, and hassle. Metro is downstairs and through the tunnel...very convenient even with an 11-year old. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Concierge level amenities were fantastic with snacks in the evening and good breakfast in the morning.
Convenient to 23rd street restaurants...we walked it with no problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maimy C, Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear glebo,

We appreciate you taking the time to post this nice review about your experience at our hotel. Our complimentary shuttle to and from Regan National Airport is a special benefit to our guests, I am so happy you found this helpful. Thank you for mentioning our staff, great services, amenities and convenient location! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel was clean. Air vents are loud in the room. Elevators and parking were the big problem. More than half were broken, and for such a large hotel, 2 elevators makes for long lines to go up and down. Parking garage did not have enough spots, and the directional arrows are all worn away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraz A, Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Kim A,

Tahnk you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We take this feedback very seriously and will work towards resolving these issues from happening in the future. Based on this feedback, we are already reviewing our parking process to assure our arriving guests always have ample parking available for them. In addition, we are currently working to complete the upgrade of all of the hotel elevators which will eliminate issues you encountered during your stay. I know this does not make up for your experience, but i wanted you to know this is being addressed.

Tahnk you for your business and we hope to host you during your future trips to our Nation's Capital!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

1st room-black hairs on the bed
2nd room-black hairs on the bed, front desk was unapologetic and asked me to wait for the housekeeping manager. She came up, I showed her, she picked up the hairs on the bed and threw them on the floor. Took me to room #3.
3rd room-beds were finally clean. Later on, the shower had black hairs.
Called the hotel manager the next day. Said the director of services would personally have it cleaned top to bottom. Not so much....sunflower seed (not mine) was on the floor and still in the same spot after the supposed cleaning. Red spot on comforter was rectified by making the gold wider to cover it. The director of services left me a very nice cheese, fruit and wine platter. Would have made up for the trouble had the utensil folded napkin not had long black hairs folded into it. Most disgusting place EVER!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dieseldog47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maimy C, Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Dieseldog47,

Thank you for your feedback, albeit negative. I am very sorry to hear about the cleanliness issues you experienced at our hotel. I can imagine how frustrating it was for you to have to endure such poor accommodations. We take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and we did not do so in this case. Rest assured that we are working on addressing your concerns and will take immediate steps to correct these issues. That does not change the fact it affected your experience here and I wanted to personally apologize. I hope you give us an opportunity to renew your confidence in our ability take excellent care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Crystal City Marriott included free parking and was close to a metro stop. Since we were going into Washington, DC we just wanted to park the car and be able to get on the metro. We were not only close, but there was the ability to get there without going outside. Be sure to check out the specials that you are getting -- the one we had signed up for was no longer available, but we received some other items free instead. Clean, comfortable room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maimy C, Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Linda R,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to the Washington, D.C. Area!
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. One of the many benefits our hotel has to offer is our location; it is perfect when touring Washington, D.C.! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at this Marriot for one night to catch a Washington Nationals game. This hotel was very nice and cozy. We were able to catch the metro very easily because there is a tunnel going straight to it in the lobby. That part was amazing so we didn't have to find a metro station. The front desk clerk was very helpful and nice. The only downer was the parking fee was $26 a night. Definitely a great place to stay with fast access to DC without staying in DC. Wonderful overall experience!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maimy C, Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear GlennNC,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to the Washington, D.C. Area! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The proximity to Downtown D.C. and our connected under-path to the Metro is a great benefit for our guests! We look forward to your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing