We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
orange county, california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Washington DC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Situated close to public transit. I was here for a conference for 3 nights. The rooms are clean, the beds very comfortable, staff is friendly. There is a small bar in the lobby area - serving sandwiches etc. its an open kind of bar next to escaltors. Attached from the lobby is an "underground mall" if you will. It offers several choices for dinning that i would pick over hotel choices to eat. i did order room service, salmon (from their more formal dinning), it was good and services was great.
Dont be afraid of using the public transit. I am from So.Cal. so we are addicted to our cars. Once i got someone to explain the system, i took the underground - it was easy, safe and took me into town for Sight seeing - from the underground - you walk from that station - directly to the underground mall - directly to hotel lobby. Covenient.
i took a sightseeing bus tour i booked through the hotel. THere are 2 bus tours, i chose the one that picks you up directly in front of the hotel. it was on time. I took the night tour - Bring a flash light is you go at night, you will not be able to read the names on memorials or walls without one.
Back to hotel, would i stay again? Yes. There is also a 3 story mall about a 7 minute walk from hotel. Other than 3 story mall, you must drive or use public transit from hotel to see any site seeing places. Outside of hotel, more hotels and parking lots in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swannystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    554
    176
    48
    34
See reviews for
308
185
92
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoxie, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here for a convention that was held in the hotel. My room was clean and spacious, and the bed was one of the more comfortable beds I've slept on in a hotel. Housekeeping did a fabulous job of cleaning and straightening my things. Concierge service was great and helped us to find the most interesting local attractions.

The lobby is connected to Crystal City Shops, which includes many dining choices, as well as quick access to the Metro. Also, complimentary shuttles from Reagan International are available.

Complimentary wifi is available in the lobby, but not in the room. That is my only complaint about the hotel. After paying so much for a room, it would be nice to have complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlh112564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Nice and comfortable hotel near the Reagan Airport in Arlington, Virginia.
The hotel is attractive with a traditional decoration, very clean and with a friendly and professional staff considering it was very busy during the congress. The rooms were exceptionally clean and the household staff did an excellent job, with little chocolates on the bed included. The conference wireless extended to my room on the 5th floor, and it had good connectivity.
You can access the Metro system without going outside the hotel. There is a convenient shopping area connected by a long tunnel and a big mall at walking distance.
The food was good and the service was fast. I recommend the awarded omelet chef at the breakfast buffet, it was the best omelet ever! (http://www.sungazette.net/arlington/news/years-of-service-win-crystal-gateway-chef-accolades-standing-ovation/article_d12f8948-69e0-11e1-95da-001871e3ce6c.html).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIA LORRAINE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I attended a 3-day conference here. The facilities and staff were excellent. The bathrooms were clean, the meeting rooms were clean and tidy and refreshed several times a day. Great food, too! Lots of vegetarian and gluten free options, which is a major plus for someone on a restricted diet. The location, in close proximity to the metro made for easy access to the sights of DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InsoucianceAbroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent a weekend night here for $99.00 which is an unbelievable price for the location. (Check out weekday prices!) The staff we interacted with was super friendly and professional. The hotel is elegant and in great shape considering it is always very busy. I've stayed here several times before on business and like it for it's location. You can access the Metro system without going outside the hotel. Parking is expensive - but no different than any other hotel in Crystal City. Not only would I stay there again, I've already got reservations for a business meeting in August.

Room Tip: Being a Marriott Rewards Gold Level got us upgraded to a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Do not stay here unless you need the location. They don't honor their rates. I showed up to check in and they wouldn't honor my rate. They changed the rate and I had no choice but to accept it. The manager was extremely rude and unhelpful. Told me that I was stuck with a rate that was triple what I booked it for and had proof of. I always try to stay at Marriott but never again at this Marriott. Entire staff took the same attitude as the manager. They were all rude and not willing to help. Every time you asked a question they acted like it was a huge inconvenience to answer it. Find somewhere else to stay. This hotel doesn't deserve the honor of being a Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaleRex16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Was at this hotel on business for 4 days. Vey nice large hotel. Has a underground walkway to shops and restaurants. You can practically walk underground and come out at several points including crystal drive. Conference area was very nice and well organized. One thing I did not like was the last day of the conference coffee was horrible. Tasted the same in the restaurant. The other two days it tasted very good. The last day it tasted as if the only made it with half the coffee; very watery. No other complaints. Rooms were nice and roomy. Oh my irin did not work, but it was replaced right away.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing