We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, standard rooms, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is located near Washington, DC and close to public transportation. The Yellow and Blue Metro lines are a few minute walk through a connecting passage. Taxi rides were expensive because Virginia cabs cannot pick up fares in DC and so add an extra charge and DC cabs cannot pick up passengers in Virginia so there is again extra charges. Just a heads up if you stay at the hotel. As for the Hotel, my friend and I stayed at the Hotel for a conference and got great rate, 191.00 a night. In comparison to other Hotels I have stayed in the rooms were adequate, large king bed, but was to soft for sleeping soundly. One recommendation if you stay here and have any allergies make sure the pillows are not feathered, I believe they are standard in the rooms. The rooms were exceptionally clean and the household staff did an excellent job in taking the care of the room. The rooms were lacking a safe and refrigerator, perhaps this is a minor complaint. One problem was the concierge provided a map of the local area that was completely wrong and my friend and I wandered around for a long time looking for the restaurant we had reservations in. Also, we were given wrong information about the Metro. The adjoining restaurant was very good for breakfast and lunch. The meeting rooms were rather cold but the hotel did warn us about that so we were prepared. The fitness room had free weights, a few weight machines, treadmills, cross trainers, and bikes and had towels, water, and monitors on the machines, but bring your own headphones. Overall, the experience was pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d28drk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
There are newer reviews for Crystal Gateway Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, and used it as a home base. We were out all day and night, visiting all the attractions Washington DC has to offer. The Metro on your doorstep, shopping, restaurants, makes everything all within easy reach. The rooms were large, and had everything you needed for a peaceful, safe holiday. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area. Marvin at the front reception was very helpful, and managed to find us a room for aavery early check in, which was great. The concierge ladies were also very helpful when we needed to ask any questions. Great staff, excellent location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kramerpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The price, even with the conference discount, was a ridiculous $259+tax per night, and that only provided a standard Marriot business hotel experience. Nothing extraordinary, nothing terrible, just as expected. Luckily the conference wireless extended to my room on the 3rd floor, and that was great as it had IPv6 connectivity. The meeting rooms were good, as was the provided lunch.

Room Tip: ask for a room far from elevators which are loud
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

First visit to Washington DC, and like any major City many hotels, and prices to choose from. We chose this hotel due to a superb location, a free shuttle operates to Regan Airport. The hotel adjoins a shopping mall, and the metro. Three blocks away is the Pentagon City Mall, where the Open Top city tour bus stops.
The hotel is the standard Marriott offering, of spacious comfortable rooms, and all the requisite amenities. Like many we rarely take breakfast in the hotel, but on this occasion we did, and it was first class and good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Convenient to the touring of Washington the hotel has a direct entrance to the METRO--subway train. If you are a Senior, get the train to the "Metro Station" or "Pentagon" and get your Senior 'Smart Card.' Back at the hotel, it is comforting to have a glass of wine, beer, or soda in the open air lobby. You can even get the same food (and price) there as in the restaurant. Rooms are comfortable. We stayed on the second floor near the workout room and over the pool. But after 10:00 things quieted down. The concierge was helpful, and arranged trips and tickets.

Room Tip: If you are going to a function in the ballroom or smaller business rooms, get a room in that tower...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The location of Crystal Gateway is great....right on the Crystal City underground with easy access to the metro. The hotel is nice, seems pretty standard -- a hotel room you'd find almost anywhere. It was clean, bed was comfortable, quiet. I stayed in the Arlington Tower which seems far away from the lobby. It's manageable though. I was in town for work, but not at a conference in the hotel - so I used the metro.

I really miss that lots of hotels took the mini bar out, it's a shame. Maybe all you want is a glass of wine but room service would just make it not worth it. I did however, buy a bottle of wine at the Market Basket in the underground and drank it all week. So, the hotel just lost money. I also don't like when a hotel doesn't even have bottles of water for you.

So -- clean, nice, you won't be sorry but there are no extras.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne2StLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

When Checking in I was told that my rate for Sunday night would not be the $118 as promised at the time of making my reservation. I told them that I was part of the History Bee and there were special rates of $132 and I was told that there were no more rooms left at the price??? I stayed in the same room the whole time this all seems like a scam. Instead I was told that other rooms in the area were being sold for $800 and I was lucky to only pay the $269 double what I was budgeting. When finally getting into my room I found the room really not up to your stars. There was a previous guests contact container under the bed, The drawers were so sticky and gross I was not able to even put my clothes in them, The comforter had a big brown stain down the center of it and the shower curtain was filthy with big spit and black marks down it. I will never stay here again and since my son is a sophomore there will probably be two more trips to the History Bee. Thank god there are other Hotels close. I did however enjoy the staff in the lounge they were all very friendly. When visiting the pool area I found it to be filthy also. Hangers in the trees and inches of dirt behind all of the chairs and although there was a pool attendant he was not doing anything other than sitting in a chair texting on his phone. As a General Manager in Hospitality I was really put off by all of this and think it is time for the GM of the Crystal Gateway to step out of the office and start walking around the hotel to see what is really going on. Tonight I went to buy my son a candy bar and it was in a bin marked $2 and I was charged $2.75 when bringing up the fact that I was being over charged and pointing to the sticker marked $2 I was argued with and told the sticker was wrong. If the sticker is wrong it should be changed and the customer should not have to pay for someone's laziness. I am all the way from Montana and I don't think in all of my travels that I have been so angry in any hotel. I work for Sodexo and all of the staff there travels quite frequently...I will always suggest that they never stay here.

Room Tip: Don't choose one here
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jodee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 52 in Arlington
1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $120 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing