We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in a great location. Service is great - walking back to my room after a morning workout, I ran into a lady with drinks & snacks she was setting up for a meeting to start later that morning. She must have thought I looked thirsty, or sweaty, and offered me a bottle of water. That's the type of thing I love about Marriott - the staff is great. Otherwise, good amenities including the fitness center which is a decent size. Great for a business stay in particular.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PipersMom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    501
    160
    44
    26
See reviews for
285
164
86
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here last July for a conference, and would not choose to stay at this hotel again. I had a room on the club floor- very oddly shaped room, damp and smelly, and oddly shaped. In fact, the room was so damp I was afraid my clothes would smell! Took forever for housekeeping to clean the room and one day I was there, it wasn't cleaned at all. The place was full of Quincineras on the weekend and families during the week. Swimming pool overrun with kids. Brreakfast very good and in room dining OK.

The club room was the worst excuse for a club room I have ever seen. Overall, the property was outdated and in bad need of a makeover. The actual conference was being held in another hotel nearby; I booked this Marriott because I thought it would be nicer, but in the end, I actually tried to leave and get a booking at the hotel where the conference was being held, with no success.

Bottom line- not a great hotel for the business traveller, particularly during the peak DC tourist season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gamelanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
536 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had thoroughly enjoyed the Crystal Gate Marriott before so my expectations were high. Unfortunately, this time it did NOT meet expectations. I paid over $250/night for a substandard experience.
The lobby entrance smelled damp and some of the carpeted areas had an old, slightly musty odor. I was assigned a king room on the second floor directly across from a fitness room with a noisy door.
The king room window overlooked an atrium full of people — twenty feet below! How could anyone except maybe an exhibitionist open the window shades?!
The conference ballroom was so cold that even males in suits complained. The escalator did not work near the bar area so people had to walk it like stairs, only more precariously with a wide, changing stride.
A complimentary hotel airport shuttle was included to Reagan National Airport. I had to call the hotel for directions to the shuttle at the airport beforehand. On my return from the hotel to the airport, the shuttle driver drop us off at Baggage Claim instead of an airline departure zone!
I will seriously consider moving to another hotel for my next DC trip.

Room Tip: Stay off the second floor, away from the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Everything was great. The staff, cleanliness, shower, bed - hits all the important marks for me! Stayed here on business. Close to DCA airport with a free shuttle, which was fast and pleasant (expecting the opposite). Great location. The hotel has shopping and a large number of good dining establishments underneath the hotel in the mall, very convenient! I will definitely stay again when the need arises.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location near DC with easy access to museums and monuments. The hotel is clean, friendly team, comfortable beds and the assurance of consistency that comes with a Marriott flag, Added bonus of shopping right there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDF2732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed three nights at the Crystal Gateway Marriott. The hotel is convenient to Washington DC by car, cab, and Metro rail. Shops and restaurants next to the hotel provided lower priced eating alternatives to the hotel restaurant, though hotel restaurant food was quite good. Getting into Washington was quick and easy from the Metro station next to the hotel.

I only rated the hotel as very good based on the room itself. We had two full sized beds, one club chair, a desk chair, cabinet with refrigerator. Only complaints were that there were some holes in the shower curtain that appeared to be from a cigarette, yet the room is nonsmoking, and the club chair was a little worn in spots on the upholstery and padding in the arms. Housekeeping came by the room quite early, knocking at the door, but we just asked her to come back after 8:30 a.m.

The lady working the concierge desk was very helpful and friendly.

Overall, good hotel choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColonelAudubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at this Marriott as we had a banquet that ran late into the evening. We arrived around 5:30 and decided to use Valet parking as it wasn't obvious where else we should park. Check in was easy. We are gold members and were very disappointed that the concierge lounge was not open on the weekend. They offered to give us a complimentary breakfast but the lounge offer so much more.

The room was nicely prepped and to my liking. I enjoy the bath and body works amenities in the washroom. It was also good to have a mini fridge so that we could have cold water.

I only give it three stars as the view was terrible and I was upset that the lounge was closed. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyTravels720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing