We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hits and minor misses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hits and minor misses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I like staying here; I've stayed here a lot on business travel.

Hits: Convenient to metro. Quick taxi ride from DCA. Hotel shuttle from DCA, if you want to save a little money. I've always been treated well by the staff, with some great room upgrades, even on multi-night stays (I'm Marriott Platinum), and they've gone out of their way for me a couple of times to help with simple but out-of-the-ordinary requests. Cleaning staff is very good and thorough (I've had one problem checking in to a sub-par room). Bar staff and Concierge Lounge staff are very friendly and efficient.

Minor misses you might want to know about: The atrium bar is OK, but is brightly lit and can be noisy (a miss if you prefer a dark, quiet place to have a drink); their wine bar has been closed for quite a while now. Lots of families and kids stay here. Food offerings in the Concierge Lounge are sub-par relative to other Marriotts I've visited (warehouse-shopping-club-style microwave "mini-burgers; never any potatoes or meats at breakfast), though the ladies that staff the lounge are absolute sweethearts.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the US capitol, which can be kind of cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    500
    160
    44
    26
See reviews for
285
164
86
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

On a recent trek to DC, my husband and I stayed at Marriott Crystal Gateway. The most positive feature of this hotel is that we didn't have to drive or park in the downtown area. We simply hopped on the Metro, located in the basement shopping area of the Marriott. No hassles, just fun and a clean, comfortable room to return to after seeing all the sights.

Room Tip: I like the second floor, across from the gym and pool entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilsons637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
418 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located in Crystal City and conveniently located to DCA (Reagan Airport) and the transit system to take you into downtown. It is connected to the underground which will take you to shops and fast food as well as the Metro. Many restaurants and shopping options within walking distance as well. I have two complaints:
1. Airport transportation ends at 11pm, which means if you land close to or after that, you're stuck taking a cab and the cab lines can be incredibly long at that time of night.
2. The club lounge is closed from noon on Friday until Monday morning.

Room Tip: For easy access to the Club lounge and restaurants request a room in the Main tower as opposed to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skych8ser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Always know what your getting when staying at a Marriott. It's so convenient to the Metro, shopping and food. The beds were so comfy and your able to get a good nites rest. This will most likely be our choice place to stay when visiting DC but only negative is having to pay for WIFI especially when you have to pay daily for parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wintson salem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to get metro(direct access to crystal city station(blue line) and give good price compared to D.C hotel.
I booked this hotel with AAA membership promotion, so we could have double room including morning buffet under $100(we are 2 adult and 2 kids). The buffet was descent and essential as morning buffet.
The subway food store(in crystal sqaure arcade) is also beneficial to us, tired with sightseeing.
The "Sushi Garden" is very great sushi bar. we bought sushi on my way to come back hotel, exhausted. The sushi and Bibimbob and miso soup are very delicious.
This hotel has indoor pool and laundary room on 2nd floor.
the only thing is not satisfied is parking lot and parking fee($26).
I will be stay again this hotel next visit to washington D.C.

Room Tip: higher floor has good sights but there are many rooms that are connected with door (although it is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sook Won R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Took the grandkids over Spring Break to the Smithsonian Museums. Staying at this Marriott is very convenient, since the Metro has a stop adjacent to the hotel. Then, when you come back after the museums, there is the pool. The adjoining shopping center has several eating establishments. The hotel restaurant isn't bad either.
My only gripe is that the Einstein Bagel Co. in the lobby needs to seriously expand. The line is way too long in the morning, and at conference breaks.

Room Tip: Anywhere is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellight47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've lived in DC and gone back to visit often. This will be my new preferred stay! With indoor access to the Metro, you can't beat the convenience for getting around the city. For a large hotel, the personal attention and hospitality were remarkable. Every staff member greeted me and several remembered me throughout my visit. Weekend rates are a bargain, as the local area of Crystal City tends to be busiest during the week. There is a handy bagel/coffee stop in the lobby; breakfast in the restaurant was adequate, but better to get out into the city and explore for your meals. Request a room with a view over the river into DC, and higher up. Rooms were good sized.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor with a view toward the river and into DC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing