We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy to transport and reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
wintson salem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“easy to transport and reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to get metro(direct access to crystal city station(blue line) and give good price compared to D.C hotel.
I booked this hotel with AAA membership promotion, so we could have double room including morning buffet under $100(we are 2 adult and 2 kids). The buffet was descent and essential as morning buffet.
The subway food store(in crystal sqaure arcade) is also beneficial to us, tired with sightseeing.
The "Sushi Garden" is very great sushi bar. we bought sushi on my way to come back hotel, exhausted. The sushi and Bibimbob and miso soup are very delicious.
This hotel has indoor pool and laundary room on 2nd floor.
the only thing is not satisfied is parking lot and parking fee($26).
I will be stay again this hotel next visit to washington D.C.

Room Tip: higher floor has good sights but there are many rooms that are connected with door (although it is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sook Won R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    522
    165
    45
    30
See reviews for
290
177
89
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Took the grandkids over Spring Break to the Smithsonian Museums. Staying at this Marriott is very convenient, since the Metro has a stop adjacent to the hotel. Then, when you come back after the museums, there is the pool. The adjoining shopping center has several eating establishments. The hotel restaurant isn't bad either.
My only gripe is that the Einstein Bagel Co. in the lobby needs to seriously expand. The line is way too long in the morning, and at conference breaks.

Room Tip: Anywhere is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellight47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've lived in DC and gone back to visit often. This will be my new preferred stay! With indoor access to the Metro, you can't beat the convenience for getting around the city. For a large hotel, the personal attention and hospitality were remarkable. Every staff member greeted me and several remembered me throughout my visit. Weekend rates are a bargain, as the local area of Crystal City tends to be busiest during the week. There is a handy bagel/coffee stop in the lobby; breakfast in the restaurant was adequate, but better to get out into the city and explore for your meals. Request a room with a view over the river into DC, and higher up. Rooms were good sized.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor with a view toward the river and into DC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Metro, Regan National airport, Crystal City, fed gov, downtown DC.. name it all, your close to for all kinds of transportation. Great place for business meetings and base place for visiting Pentago and Arlington Cemetary.

Need to book a convention, corporate meeting or host a business seminar. They offer a good number of different size rooms, from small to convention size.

We just booked a global reunion for 200+ people, and they worked well to help accomodate all our needs.

The bar area is open and expansive, and has just the right atmosphere. Close to underground mall, and area restaurants.

Only drawback is their parking garage, a little small, a little spooky and hard to manuever around.

Room Tip: The offer traditional AAA and other discount rates, including honoring Marriott rewards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooffwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
419 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for a meeting. The lobby looks nice, room and conference room area dumpy. My fitted sheet did not fit the bed and kept coming off the corner. Lousy in-room coffee. Meeting room area had Ladies room with only 2 stalls. Every time we had a break from our meeting, the housekeeping staff were in there--so we had to wait in line. Door to Ladies room slammed shut every time and then was propped open. Staff assigned to meeting room inattentive. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Crystal Gateway is located near the 14th Street bridge providing easy auto access to Washington, DC. It also sits atop the Crystal City metrorail stop--the metro easily reached without going out into the weather. The rooms are well maintained and the staff is very helpful. We heard at least seven different languages being spoken by the front desk staff. The meeting facilities are well designed and the meeting planner staff is responsive to needs. The restaurants and bar are pleasant. The food was good, but we found greater variety at better prices in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 4th floor are quieter. Rooms facing away from the Potomac River have less aircraft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HedoCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant View, Tennessee
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. Next stop from Reagan Airport on the Metro. Metro is easily accessible and the wonderful shops and restaurants in Crystal City only steps away. So easy to commute to DC from hotel.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty4697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing