We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Choice for DC Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
289 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great Choice for DC Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a great hotel both to be close to the Reagan Airport (such as for an early morning flight) or as a convenient alternative to staying in downtown DC. It is an "airport hotel" close to the Reagan Airport, and offers a free airport shuttle every 20 minutes. The shuttle was on time and fast. The hotel also is connected through an underground tunnel system to the DC Metro system (only a few stops away) and to a number of small shops and restaurants located in the tunnel system. This proximity to Metro makes it extremely convenient as a hotel for DC visitors who don't need (or want) to stay in the middle of DC. In fact, it is located closer to a Metro station than are many downtown hotels, making it easier to explore DC using Metro from here than it would be from a lot of hotels downtown. My room had a direct line of sight to the Capitol dome, a better view than I have ever had in a downtown hotel. The hotel is one Metro stop away from Pentagon City, which is a large shopping area with a number of great restaurants and other stores. The Pentagon itself is only two stops away, and the airport only one stop away in the other direction, if you don't want to take the shuttle. The hotel itself was extremely comfortable and the staff was wonderful. I definitely would consider using this hotel for future visits to DC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    500
    160
    44
    26
See reviews for
285
163
86
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge
Level Contributor
318 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I love staying at this hotel. It is on top of the Metro station (although the signs are truly confusing about which Marriott is which), has a ton of amenities, the gym is very well equipped, the rooms were huge, and the service is terrific. Everyone smiles and everyone tries to help. Two small issues come to mind. the first is the charge for Internet. you know if you read myb logs that I believe charging or internet is akin to charging for towels so I hate when hotels are so cost cheap that they charge for internet. The other drawback has to do with the room we rented for our business meeting. They insisted that we pay hundreds of dollars for food service that we really did not need. Another example of nickle and diming the customer. Other than that, is is a great hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panzerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nothing special with this Marriott property. It is definitely showing its age, although there appear to be attempts to perform some updates. The eleveators were extremely slow and for two days in a row, 2 out of the 3 elevators were inoperable for a portion of the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was very disappointed with the pool/spa area. The beds were very comfortable, and for an older hotel, I was very pleased with how clean the room was. I would stay here again with out hesitation, primarily because of the high level of customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdhockeytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is an older hotel, but overall it has been kept up to date. The one exception is that the only WIFI they have is in the lobby (and it isn't very good). The bar/restaurant which is open late had awesome food and drinks. There needed to be much more room for seating. They do have other restaurants which I did not visit. The service was great and the staff was polite and helpful. The location is right on top of a Metro station, so getting around is very easy. Rooms are pricey, but so are other hotels in this area. Beds are SUPER soft. My wife loved it, but it was a little too soft for me. I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a small town near Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our first stay at the Crystal City Mariott. The airport shuttle was very convenient and the drivers were very helpful and friendly. We arrived at about 8:00 am. Although our requested early checking was not gaurenteed we were immediately given a room, for which we were very thankful as our day had begun at 3:30 am. All staff that we came into contact with were friendly and efficient.
We had a room on the seventh floor in the Arlington Tower. It was spacious, very clean and very comfortable. The bed was excellent and enabled us to get a good nights sleep.
The hotel is very convenient to the Metro which we used to get back and forth to the Smithsonian area. It is not necessary to go outside in order to access the Metro as it is located in an undergraound shopping mall right through a tunnel from the hotel.
We did not eat at the hotel as we followed other trip advisor recommendations for eating outside the hotel.
We will definitely stay at this hotel when we return to Washington.

Room Tip: If your schedule allows, go on a weekend. Hotels seem to be much less expensive then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with work for four days. Overall a great hotel, very clean, quiet. Only real problem is that the elevators can be slow. Metro station is close for access to the national mall and monuments etc. Good restaurants in walking distance and very easy access to Reagan airport ($10 taxi ride)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ham382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10 years or so and I always find the hotel to be great from the point of view of the location convenience, cleanliness, room size and hotel services. Sometimes my wife travels with me. The problems with the hotel are with their food service. Just 2 of a number of problems are the following: On one occasion we were in the bar and we ordered something to eat. I was served my hamburger and my wife's salmon was nowhere to be found. 5 minutes later, it still hadn't arrived despite the fact that the waiter said that it would arrive right away, 10 minutes later still not there. Finally after 15 minutes it arrived. By that time I had eaten my hamburger. On another occasion, we were in the hotel restaurant for breakfast and I ordered poached eggs. By the way, they seem to make it more difficult to order anything other than the all you can eat buffet. Anyway, my eggs were over done when they arrived and while I was waiting to tell the waiter to take them back, I took a bite of the toast on the plate. There was no problem with the waiter taking my plate back but when he brought my eggs back to me after 10 minutes, t was the same plate with the same toast with the bite mark. Just 2 examples of poor service in the food areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadofjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing