We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel to visit DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel to visit DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is an excellent base to visit both Washington and the local Virginia towns. To travel to DC take a short 2 minute walk to the metro through the underground walkway connected to the lobby and you then have a short 15 minute ride on a clean and safe underground system. Ronald Reagan airport is nearby and having the shuttle bus service enabled us to travel to our next destination with the minimum of disruption. The staff were very friendly, polite and attentitive when we had dealings with them. The room was large and well appointed and I would recommend you stay on the upper east tower to get the best views of downtown. The rates we got for the weekend were excellent and made it a viable cost to visit Washington. If you get the opportunity take the metro the Alexandria VA (2 or 3 stops along the line) where you can take a walk straight out of the station and walk down Main street where there are a wide variety of independent shops with lots of excellent restaurants and bars clustered around the pier at the end of the street. If you are too tired to walk back then you catch the free trolley bus back to the station.Visiting Washington? You will not be disappointed at the Marriott Crystal Gateway.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    522
    165
    45
    30
See reviews for
290
177
89
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
235 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I usually stay downtown at a Kimpton but needed to be class to the airport so I chose the Mariott. I had stayed there years ago and was pleasantly surprised when I walked in the and found it newly renovated

What great service from the desk, room service and the bar. Beautiful pool, spa, and exercise area. Quiet rooms and spotless. But it is the staff that really makes this an oasis for a weary traveler !


They set the bar for a Marriott !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great value for the price paid, very close to metro station, staff was nice, beautiful pools with nice attendants, huge lobby and a good size fitness area, rooms can be renovated but ok, anyways a good hotel for a perfect summer getaway in dc area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel for the weekend of our family reunion. The hotel is huge! These are all the pluses we enjoyed: Many sitting areas throughout the property, a great in-house restaurant with very fresh and delicious breakfast buffet, a fabulous bar, huge indoor/outdoor pool and gym, clean rooms, great water pressure in the showers, plush bedding, great views of crystal city area, very close to pentagon city mall. We will DEFINITELY go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooilovepancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel out of pure convenience - my husband was attending a conference there. Otherwise, we’d probably have gone with a different one in a different part of DC. We booked a junior suite since we travel with our toddler. This meant the room came with a little dinette for us to use (instead of eating off the couch and ottoman.) The room was clean but did not come with all the usual things you come to expect. It did not have a microwave but did have a smaller than average refrigerator – just large enough to hold a couple of drinks and a few very small containers. Nor did it have Internet – that was located in the hotel lobby. Our room was tucked away near the housekeeping closets and next to the elevator. At first I was concerned about the possibility of noise – but it was very quiet considering there were many conferences/meetings happening during our stay. The hotel was quite busy and when you called down for any service, it took a long time (or a second call) to get what we required. The biggest plus of this hotel was its location to the Metro and the underground mall. That was nice since we could not store food in our fridge and we traveled a bit to check out DC. We didn't check out the pool - too many other things to do. I would not necessarily recommend this place for a traveling family but it’s definitely ideal for the business traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel for the location and price. I'll emphasize that the price was right for the weekend when all of the business travelers have left town and they are willing to offer great deals. I travel to DC 3 times a year on business and because of restrictions by company imposes I can't stay here because it's usually high two's to mid-three's. For the weekend trip I just took it was around one bill per night.

So, first off the location is awesome. The Metro is basically adjacent to the hotel connected by an underground tunnel. DC is three to four stops away and Smithsonian and the Mall is another two stops...total about 15 minutes. You never have to go outside - nice when raining.

Restaurants are a plenty in the area and range from fast food to upscale options like McCormack and Shmicks. Again, almost all are within 5 minutes walking and most are reachable through the underground shopping mall.

Hotel staff was great and very friendly and looking for ways to make you happy. I was traveling with my four and a half year old on our first father-son trip. The person at the front desk was very friendly and trying to engage my son. She eventually went into a treasure chest behind the front desk and emerged with a handful of toys for him. She then found us a room with a separate sitting area where I could unwind at night after putting him to bed (and it allowed extra play room for him). This had a pull out couch for me to sleep on as well since she didn't have any rooms with two beds (just one king). The room was spacious and clean and the housekeeping was good each day and even came back at night for turn down service with chocolates for your pillows which made an impression on my son.

Didn't really use any amenities this trip because of a full schedule of sightseeing. I did enjoy the in-lobby Einstein Bagel shop which i used for breakfast one morning. There was a Dunkin Donuts right inside the food court next to the hotel which pleased my son both mornings.

Checkout was just as easy as checkin. Standard checkout is 1pm which was perfect for us. We went to Air and Space museum that morning and came back by 1 to head to airport for a 3pm flight. Lobby computers for free boarding pass printing and then onto the METRO for just one stop to Reagan.

All in all, would highly recommend this hotel and general location for any sightseeing trip to DC. Plan to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ATLCUTigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was attending a conference at this hotel and had made reservations about seven weeks in advance for a room with a king-sized bed (at 6' 3'' 230 it's necessary for a decent night's sleep) . When I arrived to check in the receptionist was rude and as she handed me the key card informed me that the room had 2 double beds. When I explained to her that I had made a reservation for a room with a king bed almost 2 months ago, she replied curtly that it did not "go through." She had no interest when I showed her my reservation confirmation. Needless to say she was not interested in apologizing, trying to be helpful or find a creative solution. When I spoke with the manager I got the canned response of "we're completely booked".

It's one thing to drop the ball on a reservation, but to compound the frustration with rude service and no attempt to find a creative solution is unacceptable. I will not stay at a Marriott again.

As far as the rooms, they are clean, though the beds are so soft that you wake with a sore back. The AC is not easy to adjust with the in room thermometer either.

Room Tip: do not stay here. there are many other quality hotels in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ironhorse70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing