We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facility for a conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good facility for a conference”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

3rd to 4th year in a row an annual meeting has been held here. Nice rooms. Good conference facilities. Good food with nice choices.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MdTravelerX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    566
    182
    50
    35
See reviews for
318
189
96
652
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, however the quality of the food was very poor. We ate both in the restaurant and at a private function and the food served was of low quality and poorly presented. The rooms were clean, but we thought the beds very a little soft for us. It is a very convenient location for sightseeing with the metro a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The hotel is a typical Marriott, in Crystal City (not Arlington) near the airport. The rooms are well appointed with standards Marriott amenities, including a very cushy, comfy bed and a nice range of tv choices. The hotel is large, meaning long walks to convention areas, but once you get the lay of the land, it is easy to find your way around. My room on the 3rd floor was quiet, even near the ice machine, and the staff was helpful. The underground shopping area is a good place to grab a fast lunch, but I had trouble finding something nice to sit down in...I maybe didn't have enough time to look around. The conference food was very good and the conference staff attentive. They kept wine glasses full and dirty plates cleared. Very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diinslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

the hotel is fine and pretty easy for dc travelers. as long as a hotel is nice and clean I could usually not care at all about the staff. However the front desk staff is so rude!!!!!!!!what ever my reservation was which was a double bedded room on the higher floors. I have 2 kids and I heard there was a view. Well was that ever a mistake. I was told to wait 2 extra hours and the woman I think her name was Keisha at the front desk she called herself a manager said to me "you have too many requests" really????I called a month ago held my reservation on my card asked for a double bedded room on a higher floor. She made me feel so frustrated that I did not want to even check in . My husband and kids sat in the lobby. One of my kids walked over and asked why "this lady was being so mean to mommy." This hotel will lose business because of the horrible customer service of the front desk . I always travel marriott and these staff members give the marriott name a bad reputation. Believe me if i had I not been with my kids I would not have checked in at all. Mind you... I am a very nice person that does not complain but I almost felt verbally abused but this staff member in front of my family. Embarassing to marriott to hire staff like that!!!!

Room Tip: do not give requests for this hotel ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, NY
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Large hotel very close to Washington DC. Connected to metro. Rooms were clean and bright. Bathroom had nice amenities. No mini bar in standard room. Connected to an underground shopping arcade where there was a Starbucks and other fast food and sit down restaurant. Great way to see DC at reduced rates.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chappaqua3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD, California
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights as part of History National Bowl. Eventhough hotel was packed with students and parents, in most part hotel staff managed to remain calm, helpful and up to a Mariott standards. Very clean rooms, new bathrooms have excellent toiletries and beds are super comfortable. Another plus - good location. It is close to Reagan Airport and they offer a shuttle. We coudn't use since were flying to Dullas. For us Taxi or Shuttle(not free) were the only options. I found very convenient that they have tunnel right from inside of the hotel to Metro, and tunnel area is basically the underground mall. It should be a big plus during bad weather. Having Metro literally in the hotel made it very easy and fast to get to Washington D.C. downtown area. They charge WiFi in the room, but it's free in the lobby, so I didn't find it a big problem. Their restaurant is good, We didn't eat inside but ordered food to go. The bar area is very lively with some good choices of food and drinks. We ate there when it was late and were happy with our meal (kitchen closes at 11:15 pm which is good if you missed your dinner time) Area around hotel is nice,offices and some apartments, so on the weekend not so much going on.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muziklv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights during the National History Bowl and Bees, April 2012 and had a good time despite the crowd and the chaos of the competition.
Loved the location (near the metro station, and the underground shopping center, lots of restaurants and places to eat nearby), the services (free shuttle transportation to and from the airport, quick check-in and out, helpful and friendly staffs), the room (clean and comfy)
Will come again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 51 in Arlington
1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing