We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrible management”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was a business trip, to a conference held at the Marriott, and booked at least 6 months prior to event. Upon arrival, 10 pm, they told me it was overbooked, and the only room available was a room meant to be part of a suite.

That would not have been an issue, even if a queen sized bed was booked, if the bed was a "normal" one and not a murphy's bed. And most of all, if it wasn't broken. On top of that, since it was meant to be a adjoining room to a bedroom suite, there was a huge table in the middle of the room. Not a functioning one since one leg was broken off, and just left on top of a chair.

So at close to midnight, I am subjected to a broken bed, no table to work on , nothing they can do about it until the next day. They switched rooms the next day, compensated with free breakfast etc etc.

However, after a terrible night's sleep, and I"m not a teenager going to a legal conference, no desk to work on, the breakfast, somehow, didn't quite fill the bill. Let's say, at my age, I'm not sure I would want to ever attend any conference at the same hotel. And I have been going to this conference annually for many years.

Being a seasoned traveller, I know there are always a few vacant rooms for emergencies. This means the hotel was seriously overbooked, beyond statistically accepted norms. I'm not sure I would ever book at another Marriott Hotel . Once burned, I've learned.

Room Tip: No way to choose any room, never mind a good room if they seriously overbooked, with a reservation m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welshpembrokecorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    557
    178
    49
    34
See reviews for
311
186
92
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for many years but this is the first time I am submitting a review. I have had to take many trips to Washington, DC over the years and have pretty much always stayed at this property. The front desk staff is very welcoming and accommodating to any of your needs as soon as you arrive to check in. I am a Marriott Rewards member and have received upgrades on numerous occasions. The conference facilities are top notch, having numerous rooms for break out sessions as well as general business sessions for my group. The rooms are quite spacious, especially the bathrooms. There is always a nice selection of toiletries and the towels are quite fluffy. There is a nice desk area to work at and a very comfortable high back chair for computer or other desk work. The beds are especially comfortable and I always get a good night's sleep at this hotel. The bar area serves a limited menu but is well appointed and has tables, sofas, and several big screen televisions mounted on the walls. There is a nice restaurant on the second floor and the food is good but a bit pricey. There is a lounge for higher level Marriott Rewards members serving breakfast and light dinner fare in the evening. The view at night of downtown DC from this lounge on the 17th floor is really awesome. They have a nice gym and a beautiful pool that is open all year round. In the summer months the pool opens up so you can swim both inside and outside of the hotel in the open air. I have to say after staying at his hotel for over 15 years I have never had a bad experience. It is a bit pricey during the week, but Friday, Saturday, and Sunday rates are very reasonable. One of the best features of the location of this property is the fact the DC Metro Subway station is located directly beneath the hotel only minutes away from the front desk. This makes getting to downtown DC very convenient. There is also a huge underground mall with an entrance off the hotel lobby containing eateries and various shops of all kinds. The hotel is also only minutes away from National Airport and they provide a free shuttle service that runs every half hour. You may also take the Metro subway or taxi to the hotel from the airport in less than ten minutes. All in all, for business or pleasure the Marriott Crystal Gateway is a great place to stay while in Washington, DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of Washington, DC or National Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMCranford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 5 nights at the Marriott Crystal Gateway. The hotel is very nice, clean and easy to navigate. There are two towers of guest rooms, Arlington and Capitol, we stayed on in room 1268 which was in the Arlington tower. The room was located at a bend in the hotel so there was a small hall way from the room door into the sleeping area, which was great to eliminate hallway noise and allow me to get ready in the morning and not wake my husband.

The room was average sized, very clean, furnished very nicely and had a decent view of Reagan National Airport and Washington DC. The bed was super comfy and so nice to fall into after a busy day of sightseeing or conference learning. The bathroom was also average sized, but it accommodated all of my things perfectly.

There are lots of food options in the tunnel/mall system that is under the hotel. Also the Metro is right there located under the hotel. The airport shuttle arr vies every 20 minutes at the airport and the hotel so it was no problem getting to and from.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away for the ice machine and elevators or a quieter stay.Even numbered room in the Ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjgphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed here on business with work colleagues and was very pleased with the hotel. The service was great and there is lots of space in the lobby and other common areas to meet with colleagues. I thought the rate was a little high, but it is DC, afterall.

My room was very spacious and comfortable - plenty of space to work and relax, and the matress and linens were very good. I would have liked a make-up mirror in the bathroom and a full-length mirror somewhere in the room, but other than that, my room was perfect.

The location is right at the Metro stop - you don't even have to go outside to get from the metro to the hotel lobby - there is an underground shopping area that connects the two. There are also many restaurants within a 10 minute walk of the hotel.

I did not eat in the hotel restaurant, but I got coffee and muffins at the Einsteins in the lobby, which was good - nice people, prompt service, good coffee.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank november_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just returned from DC where we enjoyed the Cherry Blossoms. Beautiful!! In researching a place to stay I wanted something close to the airport and the Metro. The Crystal City metro station is the first stop on the blue line when leaving the airport (DCA). The metro station and hotel are linked via an underground walkway making it unnecessary to go outside. As a note of caution (since we first went to the wrong Marriott), let me add that there are two Marriott's at the Crystal City metro station. To reach the Marriott Gateway (the one on which this review is based) TURN RIGHT when you exit the Metro area, before you go outside. If you turn left, you'll go to the other Marriott.) The beds were super comfortable. The rooms were quiet. We had adjoining rooms with one of the rooms being a mini-suite (living room and bedroom areas separate) and the other being more of the typical hotel room. The only disappointment with the hotel is the charge for Internet ($12.95 plus tax for 24 hours). Also, the elevators seemed to be much slower than other hotels at which I've stayed. The Crystal City shops are very near (close to the metro station) with a variety of eating and shopping places. All in all we had a great experience. I would definitely stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: Rooms in the Capital Tower are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Well priced hotel in Arlington. Comfortable bed, good water pressure, good service. Needs to have makeup mirror in bath. Don't miss the bread pudding.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our favorite for visiting D.C. Great rooms, pool (something many hotels in D.C. lack), and friendly staff. Best part is that it's connected by a tunnel to all the underground shops in Crystal City, including the metro stop. Enter the tunnel off the lobby, stop by the donut shop for a muffin and coffee, step onto the metro and you're in the heart of D.C. in 5-10 minutes! Just make sure you check the weather first so you don't have to go back for a coat! Usually on the pricey side but sometimes has deals. Always our choice when pool or easy access to metro is the priority.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing