We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a DC Conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place for a DC Conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Marriott Crystal Gateway was a great place for a DC conference. We were able to get the DC attraction and attendance without the hassle of downtown DC. The hotel is a typical Marriott with good service and quality rooms. There is a nice hotel bar for the after hours discussions. The conference rooms and spaces integrate well although it takes some signage and getting used to the layout. The room and bathroom were great. The fitness center was decent with a few ellipticals, tread mills and bikes all with individual TV's. Small area for free weights and exercise.
Conference pricing was on average with others although I noticed there are some great rates under $100 for the savy traveler. Hotel parking was expensive although Taxi service was abundant and the bonus was 2 hour meter street(8-6) parking which gave some flexibility to having a car and free parking at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    483
    153
    40
    25
See reviews for
267
158
82
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed there for a weekend in February. Check in was easy, and the parking garage is right at the lobby entrance. There are two towers and we stayed in the Arlington Tower. The rooms in the Arlington Tower have also been renovated. The room was very clean, flat panel HD TV, clean restrooms, and comfy bed. Not much of a view except for other buildings and US rte. 1. No biggie as being in the room was just a small portion of the stay. The hotel has a bar in the lobby along with a Einstein's Bagel shop for in the morning. You do not have to leave the hotel to get on the Metro DC metro line which is great. Also right under you is the Crystal City shops. There are numerous restaurants in close proximity to the hotel if you do not wish to venture into DC. The only issue I had with the whole place is that the elevator for the Arlington Tower was extremely slow. Next time i'm in Northern Virginia I will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FalconVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in Crystal City. There is another Marriott very nearby, almost attached where I have stayed (and will again) but I do like this property better. Its tough for me to call this my favorite because I am a loyal priority club member with Holiday Inn. I do like the Holiday Inn in Crystal City, but it just does not have easy Metro access.

I love the location of this Marriott...Very easy Metro access. Also, I think most people who travel often are used to paying lots of money for so so room service food. Not so here! The food is always really good. I also LOVE the view from the higher floors. As with most Marriotts, awesome rooms, comfy beds, and impeccable cleanliness.

I think the main reason why I like this Marriott over the other that is very nearby is the pool area. They both have indoor pools, but the atrium and pool area at the Gateway feels sort of tropical. I do with hotels in this area would stop charging extra for internet, but that is just a fact of life in the DC area. Overall, its my favorite in Crystal City and a very solid Marriott indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and enjoy your view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLM2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed here for a conference last weekend and enjoyed my stay. Beds are comfortable, room service is prompt, and the staff is really helpful.

Suggestion for travelers: Ask to have a room in the capitol tower. The rooms are MUCH nicer. I stayed here in September as well, and unless they've renovated the Arlington tower, there is a huge difference between the two. Plus, the Capital tower is closer to the lobby, bar, restaurants, and many of the conference rooms. The Arlington tower seems like a world away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guyfromfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

While the hotel looks like it was built in the 80's, it appears to have been updated 5-7 years ago. The lobby is spacious and modern looking. The front desk staff were professional. The room furnishings are contemporary with a flat panel TV. The bathroom, though smallish, has a granite countertop. The bed had a comfortable pillow-top mattress. Housekeeping staff was friendly. Pool has indoor and outdoor portions is typical size for most hotels (Crystal City Marriott across the street has a larger, indoor-only pool, but that's the only advantage over this hotel). The convenient access to the Crystal City Underground's restaurants was appreciated, especially in January cold.

Room Tip: East side facing Route 1 and the airport has a more interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oski_Bear_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Marriot Crystal Gateway Hotel is a very nice hotel. The hotel conveniently located off of the Blue/Yellow Metro rail with plenty of local restaurants and watering holes in the area. The lobby is huge, staffed with courtesy people, and is very clean. One thing I noticed was a security guard located at the main entrance in the evening hours. It was nice to know that the hotel management has security as a priority. The beds were very comfortable especially after a long day. So if you are in the area on business and need a place to stay overnight, I would highly recommend this location. This hotel does have a shuttle service to Reagan National Airport; however, the airport can also be reached via the metro rail.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadKingWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I just spent five days at the Marriott for a conference. I was not involved in planning, but as a participant, everything ran remarkably smoothly. Food was surprisingly good (breakfast, lunch, and dinners), meeting rooms were properly serviced and configurations changed as planned.

I stayed on a concierge level floor and had most breakfasts in the lounge. The food was hot, and the woman from Bolivia who was taking care of us was wonderful. I could not get wi-fi reception, so not sure if that was offered in the lounge or not.

I also ate a few meals in the Mez. The shrimp and avocado salad was good, but they shamelessly cut the shrimp in half to make it appear as if there were three shrimp (already a bit stingy) only to find there were only 1 and 1/2. It was tasty, though, and the wait staff was attentive. They were very good about separate checks, since we were all on account.

My room overlooked the west. It was quiet, although it would have been nice for the cleaning staff to make a point of not letting the service door slam, which woke me up one morning. The bed was great. Bathroom was large enough for two. The room was cleaned well daily. There was a mini-fridge (that had not seen a defrosting in months and months!), iron and board, and appropriate storage space. TV was large with about 30 channels. This is the first hotel I've stayed at in years without a safe. Marriott needs to reconsider this. I was stuck carrying my electronics and jewelry all day. (Safe at desk is NOT convenient.) Everything else was fine. There is a small machine for a cup of coffee/tea, replenished daily. Toiletries and towels were abundant.

All personnel were cordial and there to help, in particular at the front desk. I needed to see a doctor while I was there and they directed me quickly to a clinic just a few blocks from the hotel. Charming woman from Romania helped my colleague when the reservation appeared lost. This staff wins an A+ for friendliness.

The hotel is connected to Crystal City shops and metro. Very convenient. It is close to sights if you are a tourist. I would stay here on my own as a tourist, and definitely recommend it for those of you looking for an event hotel.

Room Tip: Arlington Tower has views of the Capitol. Arlington is probably a better place to stay if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhine-and-Roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing