We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good solid Thai fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Bistro at Ballston

Bangkok Bistro at Ballston
Ranked #394 of 834 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good solid Thai fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My friend had a Groupon for this place, but it would have been a good value even without that. We split the garden rolls (very large soft rolls) and each had an entree. Her tofu panang was good, but she wished she had asked for it with mixed veggies, since it was just the tofu in sauce. I shared my vegetarian pad thai, which did come with vegetables, so we were happy. We also got the mango and sticky rice dessert, which was really delicious. The bill was surprisingly small (even before the Groupon). The only thing I'd recommend is to ask for more of the salad dressing for the garden rolls instead of the sauce that comes with it, which was okay ... but the peanut-ginger (?) salad dressing was really wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The2McDoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration Freebie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just had to take them up on their birthday promotion where the celebrant gets his meal for free -- well actually, we got $11 off the bill. Not bad. They start the meal with a free salad. We had the deep fried fish -- yummy for about $24 I think and it was much bigger and better than our other favorite Thai Square restaurant. Pad Thai was okay, and for appetizers we had the Tofu Tod -- deep fried tofu and dip it into their sauce. All good. We have been here before, on a Groupon Deal. And we liked the curry dishes as well. Though the Tom Yum soup was only ok, needed more kick to it.

Easy to visit, as there is parking in the building for just $1 in the evenings, or free if you an get street parking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai at Great Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the first time visiting Bangkok Bistro, and it lived up to the hype. We made reservations but found no tables available when we arrived. However, only a few minutes' wait and a table was created for us to the side of the regular dining area. Service was fantastic, the kitchen was efficient, the meals were authentic Thai, and the prices were a bargain.

We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yesharvardsucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“BB at Ballston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This Thai restaurant is a very nice, cozy but affordable price, clean and pleasant restaurant to go to if you are thinking of an authentic thai food to eat. From the owner/manager down to their staff, you'll feel welcome as soon as you come in the door. With all smiles they will seat you to the table. I had a very nice experience here with my friends and co-workers when we had a get together one Friday evening. The manager even gave us a free appetizer to start with. We really enjoyed the food and we had fun. My friends went home with smile on our face.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Virrginia, USA
1 review
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went with my husband for my birtdhay to used their promotion, eat Free on your birthday. The service and the food was very good, The Drunken Noodle and Pad See Eeow were delicious, and the best of the best was my Desert (mango with sweet sticky rice). Thank you to BB@B

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Bistro at Ballston also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Bistro at Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing