We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and Delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cava Mezze

Cava Mezze
Ranked #45 of 870 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fun and Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ate here at the suggestion of my cousin, who lives in the area and has been several times. Inside was COLD so we sat outside in the back courtyard even though it was a bit hot/humid. That ended up being a good decision because when we walked through the restaurant on our way out, the noise level was deafening. We would not have enjoyed it half as much if we were inside.

Putting those considerations aside, the food was delicious. We ordered the flaming cheese, green beans, the meatballs with potatoes (2 orders), spanikopida, and souvlaki and shared between three of us. It was all amazing. If I am in Arlington again, I would definitely want to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    53
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a lovely surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I took a long walk from my hotel and landed in this neat little neighborhood called Clarendon. I happened onto Cava because of the line out the door. It has a patio out back, vibrant bar scene and a neat (and potentially romantic) vibe. The food is like tapas with a variety of cultures mixed in. Cucumber Mohitos are the bomb and the menu offerings are really unique. The flaming cheese looks incredible!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Govmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannassas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“painfully disappointed....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our party of five arrived just after 7 and the restaurant was crowded and the sound level was a little high. We had a seat and ordered (service was good) our food came and we were quite happy with the quality of the food...however the evening was ruined due to ever growing volume of noise (not due to music)...it became louder and louder as the evening progressed and finally got to the point that it was physically painful for our party to remain.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CathyP290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ideal After Work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Cava Mezze concept is ideal for stopping off after work to socialize and grab something interesting, tasty, but not overwhelming in size. This is the Mediterranean version of Spanish tapas - same thing, different cuisine.

Anyway, we sat outside, out front, which I don't recommend. The courtyard, which we did not see was full. The inside was very dark and the host said it got darker as the evening progressed. Not sure why ... but maybe bring a flashlight.

The food is a little expensive, but worth it. Everything we got was good - including the spicy lamb sliders, which were HOT! I love spicy hot, but these were a little over the top. The bread is good, served with oil and roated pepper paste - harissa, I think its called (at least in North Africa).

That is about it - check it out. With all the offerings in this section of Arlington, put this on the list.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank le_meridional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
264 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding Middle East / Greek food! Had 7 people for dinner and loved the food. Flaming cheese is a must, as are the meatballs! Very good service topped off by the GM stopping by to see how we were enjoying the evening. A must in Arlington!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cava Mezze also viewed

 

Been to Cava Mezze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing