We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Execllent Take Out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Curry

Thai Curry
307 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA
703-524-0711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #312 of 834 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Execllent Take Out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Called ahead and the order was perfect. An excellent selection on the menu and we were very pleased with the tasty Thai food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Thai Curry has become one of my favorites in Arlington. I have spent a lot of time in Thailand, and am usually disappointed by Thai offerings in the US. So it was a great delight to find this gem. All the standard dishes are on offer, and very well prepared and with decent prices. The restaurant itself is quite classy, and a nice surprise given some of it's neighbors. Service on each of my many visits has been low key but efficient and friendly. They also have a very efficient delivery service, which is a plus.

Helpful?
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
270 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place is in a very, very tight mini strip "corner" mall on a street with about five or six businesses. A hole in the wall but not the typical "hole", because they dolled it up nicely and you'll think you've stepped in to a quasi-upscale joint. The food is really good both times I've been here and the service is prompt and friendly. You won't be disappointed but just realize that parking will most likely be an issue in a "transitional" neighborhood with varied and different ethnic backgrounds.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MASTERPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I could live on Thai Curry's "Duck Roti"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Thai Curry is in my neighborhood and we visit fairly often. It is a small, intimate, low key restaurant with sophisticated decor: a romantic setting for evening, and equally good for catching up with a friend over lunch. The slightly shabby shopping center location can be deceptive---it is really nice inside. I am afraid it remains undiscovered, as we are always able to get a table.

The Duck Roti is my favorite dish so far, especially amond the duck dishes. The duck is ocassionally a bit overcooked, so it is worth mentioning that you would like it on the rare side. We have tries the satay, papaya salad, spring rolls and pork dishes, and have always been pleased. I never tire of their mango with sticky rice for dessert, and there is a nice beer selection as well.
Service is always excellent, and you never feel rushed.

Since it is on Glebe Road just off of Route 50, it is easy to access if you are not in the neighborhood.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theos_leftluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good quality food overall but can get equally good or better cheaper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had the galangal soup and vegetarian fried spring rolls as appetizers. Soup had unusual (but very good) spicing; spring rolls were good but definitely on the greasy side. Entrees were two diferent kinds of curry: green and panang, and both were very good. I was a little disappointed that my "mixed vegetable" choice (you can choose between meats or mixed vegetables with any of the curry sauces) didn't have a huge variety or amount of vegetables although it was adequate. I dined here on a LivingSocial coupon, so with the coupon, the prices were reasonable. Had I been paying full price, I thought the prices were a little high for the combination of food quality/service (for quality and price combo, I would go to Thai Square Kitchen on Columbia Pike instead or the Thai restaurant at the end of the strip mall behind Home Depot between Route 7 and Route 50 in Seven Corners). My neighborhood restaurant (Thai Noy on Washington Boulevard in Westover) offers slightly better quality at equivalent prices. So if I were in the neighborhood, I would consider going back to Thai Curry, but wouldn't put it high on the list. Service was attentive and above average.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cwhiteva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Curry also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Thai Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing