We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will ruin you for all other pizza! And meatballs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria

Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria
5104 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA
571-312-7230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 755 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Will ruin you for all other pizza! And meatballs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Pupatella's several times in the last 6 months - love it! The meatball pizza and sausage pizza are favorites. Gluten free meatballs and grilled brussel sprouts and apple salad with balasmic are delicious gluten free options.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ebabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza, Horrible Seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The pizza is the best you can get around Arlington. The seating, however, leaves a lot to be desired.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Aranchini”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was here the other day for lunch. We had the sampler appetizer, the margarita pizza and the meatball panino. All were very good. I will definitely go back. The prices were reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Minutemen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
90 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stopped by this place to get pizza while staying at Sleep Inn and Suites.
Great pizza and great atmosphere, feels like a family style pizzeria.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepwater_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Numero Uno Pizza In Arlington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I recently returned from my first (and probably not last) visit to Pupatella. My friend - who had also recommended the place - and I met there for lunch. Although we arrived after 12pm, we still managed to beat the lunch crowd. By the end of our lunch, on a weekday, the dining room was pretty full.

The "system" at Pupatella is that you put in your order at the front - generally a personal pizza and a drink - and then seat yourself while they bake your pizza. For a pizzeria, service was (almost surprisingly) friendly. Everything is actually pretty simple, so you will not be in awe of decor or even the aesthetic quality of the pizza. The toppings on the pizza (I ordered a sausage and onion pizza) were not particular spectacular, but they did work in unison, especially with the crust. The crust is the key; it's quite tasty, relatively thin, baked in a wood fire oven. I could imagine just ordering the crust with no toppings and being satisfied.

For its price point, Pupatella is probably one of the best pizzerias in Arlington, a good place for a casual lunch/dinner. They are located a short drive (or even 10-15 minute walk) west of Ballston on Wilson Boulevard.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Markus1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria also viewed

 

Been to Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#